Mexican Beef Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Tasty, though I used regular picante sauce instead of green salsa. I had 1 1/3 pounds of meat, so I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. Instead of jalepeno, I used one anaheim pepper. This smells great, tastes really good and we ate it over white rice that had a bit of chili powder, oregano, salt/pepper and garlic powder added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
My husband and son loved this recipe. I thought it might be too "hot" for them but it wasn't at all. I topped with more cheese, enchalada sauce, shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes and a dallop of sour cream. My husband said is was as good as any restaurant! This will go into our monthly rotation. I might suggest Beano as a side dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
My family loved this dish. My daughter says it tastes like a party in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
My husband really liked this. We used chicken & will try with beef another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
This was absolutely delicious! And it pretty quick to make as well. I will definitely be making this dish again. I wrapped the beef and sauce in tortiallas like burritos. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
My husband never comments on my cooking, but praised this dish over and over, and said he wanted it every night for dinner. I used ground beef because I couldn't find stew meat at the store. SO GOOD!! A little spicy, next time I will serve it with chopped tomatoes and sour cream to cool it down a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This was fabulous! I did add a little sour cream and served it with rice and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Made it almost exactly like the recipe and it was good. Then I let it simmer for at least 1.5 hours and it was GLORIOUS! I used stew meat (chopped in small cubes), left out the jalapenos and used Macayo Salsa Verde for the salsa. The result was a wonderfully flavored meat for tacos, burritos, chimis or in my case, enchiladas. The secret seems to be to keep simmering the beef until the liquid is cooked off. I live in the Southwest and eat a lot of Mexican food, and will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
very easy & very good. I will fix it again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Hey Melissa! I hope you marry that man, don’t let a cook like that get away! This was a very good and I would say authentic dish. It was very easy to prepare. Reminiscent of Rachael Ray's 30 minute meals! It goes together nicely and inexpensive to make as well. The only think I personally would say I did not like was the spicy factor (I even seeded the pepper as most of the heat is in the seeds). BUT I am a huge wimp when it comes to spice; my husband on the other hand loved it and felt it too be too mild! I will make it again and use half of the jalapeno (he has a cabinet of hot sauce that one of which would compliment this well). The spice really does enhance the flavor so it would be foolish to leave it out. We served this on tortillas, but tastes just as good over the yellow rice we served with it. I served with sour cream as well (A LOT, helped tone down the spice!). ALSO! Please be careful cutting those darn peppers! I got the pepper juice under a few of my nails! OUCH! I was up all night will burning fingers! This was definitely a hit and I am holding on to this one and will make it again. FINALLY I have found a good recipe here again. I have had quite a few misses from here recently. This recipe alone has redeemed all recipes for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG1014

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States