Mexican Beef Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
We learned something about jalapenos when we shopped for this. The shelf guy at the grocery store assisted in choosing jalapenos, and he said his dad used to grow them. The more pointed the jalapeno, the spicier, he said. We hadn't known that, and since we're not big on really hot spice, we chose a very rounded jalapeno for this recipe. It was perfect! A pleasant heat after you eat, but not overwhelming. And oh, yes, we did like the recipe and will make it again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Made it almost exactly like the recipe and it was good. Then I let it simmer for at least 1.5 hours and it was GLORIOUS! I used stew meat (chopped in small cubes), left out the jalapenos and used Macayo Salsa Verde for the salsa. The result was a wonderfully flavored meat for tacos, burritos, chimis or in my case, enchiladas. The secret seems to be to keep simmering the beef until the liquid is cooked off. I live in the Southwest and eat a lot of Mexican food, and will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
HELPFUL TIPS THAT HELPED ME: If this is your first time working with beef stew meat, look for beef stew meat that is already cubed and packaged. You may want to cube them even smaller if you plan to use the meat for tacos, etc. I've done this both ways & using a FRESH jalapeño tastes a lot better. Don't be afraid to use a lot more green salsa!! I used a lot more than 7 ounces. Use what's necessary to cover all the meat ...and then more as you see it soak up. You don't want your beef stew to turn out dry! Lastly, to make this 5-stars, simmer it for an hour. This is very quick. I never saw my husband and kids eat so much. They usually only eat chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I can't get a lot of Mexican food items here in Australia, so when my son came to visit us a few weeks ago, he brought me a case of 4 oz cans of green chilies. I used one of these in place of the green salsa and it turned out wonderfully. I really miss the "authentic" Mexican tastes here and this was a real treat, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was outstanding! Added double the garlic, cilantro and jalapeno(seeded)--but we like spicey. Also cut the stew meat in smaller cubes. Added 2 cans of salsa and cooked for 2-3 hours on low to really tenderize the meat(added a bit of water if necessary). Wrapped the mixture in tortillas, added more salsa and these were sooo good! Have fixed a number of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
My husband never comments on my cooking, but praised this dish over and over, and said he wanted it every night for dinner. I used ground beef because I couldn't find stew meat at the store. SO GOOD!! A little spicy, next time I will serve it with chopped tomatoes and sour cream to cool it down a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Browned the stew meat the night before. Cooked in crockpot on low covered to the top of meat with beef stock and half can of green chile peppers so the flavors would blend. Drain liquids from crockpot in a strainer so you don't lose the peppers. Combined red salsa, green onions, oregano, lime juice, garlic, onion and a little basil husband don't like cilantro. Threw in a little more of the canned chili peppers. Cooked them all together, served with refried beans, tortillas, chips, sour cream and he had to have his tomato. He loved it. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This is a tasty dish and very easy to make. I use canned jalapenos (about 1/4 cup) and I add about 2 Tbsp. of light sour cream. Note: to keep the cilantro flavor alive, toss it in just as you end cooking. Otherwise, it will wilt and the flavor will not be as intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Loved this! Followed recipe exactly, easy and very tasty! I'd prefer it to be a little more salty. Next time I make this, I'll add a little garlic salt to the meat like someone suggested in a previous review. All in all, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Yum. It was very good. I followed another viewers suggestion about cutting stew meat into small pieces and used green salsa as directed. It was fantastic. Thanks for the recipe I will be using it alot. Made it twice first time I gave it 4 stars the second I upped it to 5. It is one of my favorite recipes and very glad I found this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States