Mexican Beef Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
My husband is pickiest eater ever. He loved this. I did use more salsa and simmered for a couple hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Garrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This was yummy! However, like others have said, if you use stew meat, you really, really need to simmer it for a long time to get the meat tender. If you don't have time, then use a tender cut of meat like sirloin tips. I ended up, out of neccessity, simmering it for 3 hours and it was wonderful! I'm going to try it in my slow cooker all day next time. This would also be great with chicken or pork. I need to double the recipe next time because we didn't have enough leftovers for all the work/time. I did have some leftovers over a mixture of steamed white and wild rice and it was a wonderful combination. Originally I served this as a filling with sharp cheddar/jack cheese in flour tortillas! YUMMY! This is a keeper! **Added** I made this a second time in the crock pot and it was great! I browned the meat with the seasonings, onion, and garlic, then put it in the crock and then poured the sauce over it. I used more salsa this time (16 oz to 1.3 lbs meat), added a half-can of tomato paste I had in the fridge, and some diced potatoes. Awesome! I cooked it on low for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
We Loved this! The meat was a little tough, but next time I will simmer for longer. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
All this is, is a quick not so good version of chile verde. The beef was tough & the sauce was ordinary. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Very good! I had to cook the beef quite a bit longer than stated for it to be tender though. I served it with tortillas but it would be good with rice because there was a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
My boyfriend and I just started cooking at home and we found that this recipe was easy to make. But SO SPICY. I really really liked it but I just couldn't handle how hot it was. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Loved this! We let the meat simmer for an hour in the sauce in the meat came out very well. Might use half green salsa and regular next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was OK, but everyone agreed that it was missing something, we thought maybe some cumin would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I wondered about using stew meat when I first read this recipe. The meat really turned out very chewy and tough. Although the flavor of the sauce was very good, would use some other meat next time. Also used more than the 7 ozs. of sauce the recipe called for. Other than that this recipe really is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
We loved this! I did find that you really need to cook the stew beef a bit longer. Even my picky eaters raved. I tried it again on a weekend and did it in the crock pot. Outstanding. I even added 2 whole jalapenos to cook all day with it. Wonderful flavor. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States