Mexican Beef Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
i loved the recipe. The only thing i thought was a bit much was the 1/2 cup of lime juice maybe 1/4 would have been on the money because it was very tangy. Other than that its wonderful and easy to do. I used my mixture to make fajitas and my husband and kids ate every bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is a very good, and forgiving recipe as long as you do as other reviewers have done and simmer it longer. I ended up burning it a little because I didnt add water, but it was still fantastic. I've never had cilantro/lemon beef before, but I certainly will in the future. It's a great blend of flavors. It's also a great way to make use of cheap cuts of beef to stretch a dollar. Minor addition: We had some frozen shrimp in the freezer. As the beef was finishing up, I sauteed them in olive oil with some leftover cilantro. When the shrimp was nearly done, I mixed in the beef mixture and pretty much just let it warm for a few minutes. The shrimp had a nice light flavor which complemented the beef very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I made this recipe last night for my husband who is also mexican. It was fantastic!! I pretty much made it as written except I cubed the steak into small cubes and cooked it for about 40 minutes. I also doubled the salsa verde. I served it with black refried beans, whole grain spanish rice. I slightly browned some corn tortillas in the frying pan with some oil so we could make tacos. A little sour cream on the tortilla, beans, rice and the meat mixture and presto...an awesome dinner. My husband loved it. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I thought it was alright, I'm not big on Jalepeno flavour but the family loved it and have been bothering me to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brooklin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
What a great recipe! My husband loved this recipe and I substituted Chicken for the beef and used corn tortillas to roll the chicken in. It was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Oh so good....!! followed the the recipe... except used a 16oz jar of mild salsa verde. After browning the meat... I put everything in the crock-pot for 5 hours. Meat was really tender and all the flavors blended nicely! I can't wait to share this recipe with my Mexican sister in law... think she will be impressed! Thanks for submitting it.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was really good! I used hot salsa verde, and the jalapeno. I love spicy food, but that was a bit much, it overpowered the other flavors. The meat was a bit tough for me, but I think that it would be okay if it was cut into smaller peices. Next time I am going to try making it with green bell pepper instead of onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! A new family favourite. I skipped the jalep. as my husband is super-sensitive to them, but I substituted a spicy green salsa for the kick. Also,I used white onions and they got too mushy, so I recommend a sturdier onion. I think I'll try it with shredded meat next time and serve it in tortillas. *** I made this again while visiting family, only I used leftover cooked chicken and served it in tortillas - they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve Schiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
great recipe..simple to make.got back from the grocery store without the green salsa or the beef(oops) so I improvised by using chicken tenders from the butcher,cut up small, which made for a shorter cooking time and red salsa...it was wonderful no leftovers.I'll make a larger batch next time..good job boyfriend and Melissa for sharing this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRNLANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
My family loves this recipe, with changes of course. We use pork instead of beef and we cook in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States