Mexican Beef Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
5 stars without a doubt, this is better mexican food then anything I have had at any restaurant or made at home before. I made it exactly as recipe states, dont pass this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Being for New Mexico, we eat a lot of green chili and different types of peppers but this dish had a different favor than we are use to in this state. The use of lime and cilantro was excellent! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
My husband and son loved this recipe. I thought it might be too "hot" for them but it wasn't at all. I topped with more cheese, enchalada sauce, shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes and a dallop of sour cream. My husband said is was as good as any restaurant! This will go into our monthly rotation. I might suggest Beano as a side dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Hey Melissa! I hope you marry that man, don’t let a cook like that get away! This was a very good and I would say authentic dish. It was very easy to prepare. Reminiscent of Rachael Ray's 30 minute meals! It goes together nicely and inexpensive to make as well. The only think I personally would say I did not like was the spicy factor (I even seeded the pepper as most of the heat is in the seeds). BUT I am a huge wimp when it comes to spice; my husband on the other hand loved it and felt it too be too mild! I will make it again and use half of the jalapeno (he has a cabinet of hot sauce that one of which would compliment this well). The spice really does enhance the flavor so it would be foolish to leave it out. We served this on tortillas, but tastes just as good over the yellow rice we served with it. I served with sour cream as well (A LOT, helped tone down the spice!). ALSO! Please be careful cutting those darn peppers! I got the pepper juice under a few of my nails! OUCH! I was up all night will burning fingers! This was definitely a hit and I am holding on to this one and will make it again. FINALLY I have found a good recipe here again. I have had quite a few misses from here recently. This recipe alone has redeemed all recipes for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG1014

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
very easy & very good. I will fix it again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
HELPFUL TIPS THAT HELPED ME: If this is your first time working with beef stew meat, look for beef stew meat that is already cubed and packaged. You may want to cube them even smaller if you plan to use the meat for tacos, etc. I've done this both ways & using a FRESH jalapeño tastes a lot better. Don't be afraid to use a lot more green salsa!! I used a lot more than 7 ounces. Use what's necessary to cover all the meat ...and then more as you see it soak up. You don't want your beef stew to turn out dry! Lastly, to make this 5-stars, simmer it for an hour. This is very quick. I never saw my husband and kids eat so much. They usually only eat chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Easy to make and awesome! Everybody loved it. Light and fresh tasting. I served it with rice, beans and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
My son has lived in Mexico for over a year. I made this recipe for him and we all loved it. It was more than enough for 3 big appetites. I served it with refried beans, spanish rice and tortillas. I used tenderized cube steak, cut up. I forgot to pull out the sour cream. It was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
We learned something about jalapenos when we shopped for this. The shelf guy at the grocery store assisted in choosing jalapenos, and he said his dad used to grow them. The more pointed the jalapeno, the spicier, he said. We hadn't known that, and since we're not big on really hot spice, we chose a very rounded jalapeno for this recipe. It was perfect! A pleasant heat after you eat, but not overwhelming. And oh, yes, we did like the recipe and will make it again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This recipe is EXCELLENT. I used Old El Paso green chile sauce for the salsa and cooked it a bit longer. I also used a chuck roast which I cubed instead of stew meat. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States