Mexican Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was great!!! I added some salt to the beans in the last hour and it really made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Love these beans! I always substitute canned beans instead of dry beans to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These are great - they taste like the beans at our neighborhood Mexican place. I trimmed most of the fat off of my bacon and added a little diced ham that needed to be used. I also left the lid off for the last hour, stirring occasionally, to thicken the 'sauce' a little. We added a little s & p, and some hot sauce when it was served. I halved this recipe this time - and wish I hadn't. Next time I'm going all the way so I can have some leftover. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Excellent! This recipe is now a staple of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Loved this recipe. Made some changes and they tasted like the restaurant ranchero beans. I presoaked the beans by putting them in hot water and letting them sit while we went to church (I actually goofed and threw 1/2 pinto beans and 1/2 blackeyed peas by mistake, but it turned out great!) When I got home around 2ish, I transferred them (with their liquid) to the crockpot. I added 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp bacon grease (didn't have bacon). I let this cook for a couple of hours and then added a large handful of fresh chopped cilantro. (I didn't use the jalapeno or tomato.) I added salt (about 1/2 to 1 Tbl)to taste near the end of cooking time. It took about 4 hrs to get a great tasting bean with some juice. You could drain and mash (I "mash" in the blender with some liquid) to get refried beans - might try that with some leftovers, if there is some! Great recipe! Did cut in half though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
OMG...these are SOOO good. I was in a bit of a hurry, checking side dish recipes to go with my carne asada tacos, at 4:00 pm on a Sunday. I happened, though, to have canned pintos in my pantry. I followed the recipe substituting the canned pintos. YUMMY! My sweetie loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopeLivzOn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I used this recipe for our Mexican Fiesta and it was an ok dish. I ended up with a ton of leftovers and it turned out to be more of like a refried bean consistency. So because of that I used the leftover beans to make a 7 layer taco dip and they made a better comeback and because of that I just made different bean dips with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The recipe serves up a very tasty bowl of beans! I grew up on these types of beans and this recipe rates up there in the "Like Mama used to make". It is easy to follow with simple steps. The servings are hearty and can serve as a meal all on its own. Anyone interested can mix the leftover beans with chorizo sausage on tortillas and make another great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
We have eaten these for about a week now. Delish! They go with so many meals. Even had them at brunch with egg tacos. Used a little bit of worcheshire. Lots of garlic. Some of our homemade salsa. Cooked them longer than suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Was really hungry for a warm pot of beans and this did it! Had no fresh tomato so put in a can of diced with green chilie. Also soften up a couple of cloves of minced garlic with the onion, jalapeno and bacon. These were seasoned just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States