Mexican Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
WOW WOW! So, we cooked this forever, and it wasn't cooking, the beans were hard... and I about gave up. Made another drink, hung out with my friend, and when we went back to the pot about 2 hours later, the beans were AMAZING!!! If you think they aren't great, then keep cooking them. I promise. Best beans I've ever made!!! (BTW, we don't eat meat, so added onion, green pepper, can of diced tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
When I told my family that I was making this recipe, they were not excited. We usually have boring pinto beans and smoked turkey, but this definitely wasn't that! They ended up loving it. I halfed the beans and used a can of diced tomatoes and chiles because that's all I had. I also add chili powder, sea salt, and taco seasoning. I still used a pound of bacon because the family kept asking "Are mexican beans ALL you're cooking?" "Is there going to be meat in it?" I wanted to make sure they'd see the meat and that it felt like a meal. I also added a few cloves chopped garlic in with the onions. I was worried that the bacon would go soggy, but after 3 hours of cooking the beans, by the time I added the bacon mixture, the beans were pretty much done, so that wasn't a problem. Even the one who hates beans in my family loved this. I crisped up some corn tortillas (we were out of tortilla chips) and served those on the side. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I went crazy with the seasonings on this one...came out dangerous but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These beans are bland without dressing them up with some seasoning. Instead of 1 medium tomato, I add a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies and then I also throw in 2 teas. cumin, 1 teas. cayenne (or more depending on how spicy I want them), 1 teas. chili powder and salt to taste. They don't remind me of Mexican style beans, they're more like southwest style beans (like the ones you get at Chili's, only much much better) Give them a try, they're fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Loved these beans! My mother in law makes THE BEST frijoles rancheros. I'd been wanting to make them myself and let me tell you, this was the best recipe I found. They smelled great and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Our family loved this recipes, it tasted better the next day.. GREAT leftovers with rice, the perfect meal. I added more pepers as the first batch was not spicy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Everyone loved these beans. My brother said they were the best beans he ever had! Great flavor. I had canned beans so I used those instead, which reduced the cooking time. Other than that, I did the recipe as listed. This is going in our favorites box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoolishHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was delicious. It was the first time I've ever made beans from dry beans (from scratch). My daughter had requested homemade BRC burritos (beans,rice,cheese) like from El Pollo Loco. This recipe tasted even better than theirs!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Really delicious! Served this as a main part of the meal, not just a side dish. It went over really well. The only thing I changed was I used a can of red kidney beans instead of pintos, because I don't like them. I also added just a sprinkle of old elpaso taco seasoning to the mix as it simmered. It turned out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann Tatham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Gave it 4 stars, because I had to add a bunch of seasoning to the mix. Added cumin (2 tsp), chili powder (1 tsp), and salt (2 tsp) and it was still a little bland. Then I added some homemade taco seasoning (2 T) and cayenne (1/2 tsp). DELICIOUS after the seasonings were added! This is a great building block recipe. You can spice up or down. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States