Mexican Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Fantastic recipe. Instead of bacon, I added a left over spiral ham bone from Easter, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
These are fabulous! I have never made beans from scratch before, and these were easy. I added salt, white and black pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. The hubby loved them! I will be making these again, thanks sheilamichael!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Yummy! Love beans. I halved the recipe. Left out the jalapeno and mushed up about half of the beans. Easy and fantastic. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I thought it was super easy to make and they tasted get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancygirl03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent basic recipe. I was only cooking for two so only had perhaps 4oz beans. I soaked the beans in chicken stock or boullion, and used this as the liquid for cooking. I also used pancetta which gives a wonderful smokiness to the beans. Try to avoid trimming the fat, as it gives the dish flavour, and is pretty pointless in a carb rich dish like this. Also added half a teaspoon of brown sugar, half a bay leaf, thyme, plus chili and some cumin as per the @twilkins version. The garlic garlic clove (added whole) was mashed into the beans at the end when I mashed about 20% of the beans into the sauce. Probably not very authentic Mexican after my treatment, apologies to sheilamichael for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and it came out bland. However, they look just like the charro beans at my favorite mexican restaurant and with a few seasonings next time, they will have a much better flavor I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made this recipe and served it to 8 of my friends last night at our Mexican party. Since I am not a fan of spicy foods I was reluctant about putting all of the jalapeno pepper into the recipe but the next time I make this I will do so. As in some other reviews, I also found it bland, however, those of my friends who visit Mexico annually say that these beans tasted exactly as those in Mexico. I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
IMO, anyone who bothers to soak their beans first is just wasting time! All I need is a few hours to cook them, on the weekend or after supper for the next day. There is one thing that is not mentioned, you need salt but not till After they have softened or they will not get soft. I use chicken bouillon. I season these beans with almost anything in the spice rack,bay leaves, smoked paprika, garlic, cumin,pepper,oregano. My hubby loves beans and would eat them every day. If you want to make Cowboy beans out of this, use a can of pickled jalapenos,chorizo,ham,bacon,tomato, cilantro. These are Great for a party! Garnish with sliced radishes, cheese and sour cream. Thank you sheilamichael for sharing this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These are really good,especially after a few days. I added a can of green chopped chilis, garlic, and some spices like chili powder and cumin. I also used turkey bacon to cut down on fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Awesome beans,I did exactly what the recipe said but just added a little bit of salt.I only halved the recipe but wished i hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miasmommy1229

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States