Mexican Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
The picture looks wonderful but mine weren't very good following the recipe as written. I may try some of the suggestions in the reviews today to salvage them. I wonder if the taste I didn't care for was the bacon I used. I think I will stick to ham hocks from now on like my mother always used. And not all my beans were tender without the over night soaking and I cooked them 2 hrs more than recommended. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvaughnMin
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My husband's side of the family is Mexican and they loved these beans. They kept asking how did you make these!? Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcalderon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great recipe and agree with one reviewer that there's no need to pre-soak, just wastes time. I used pretty much the same ingredients except I did not pre-cook the bacon and onion. Nope, I put in a few slices of raw bacon and the chopped onion when the beans started to get soft. I also chopped up some garlic and pepper and put that in. Did not use tomato at all; just not necessary to me. Also must keep on hand some salt to add to taste as it cooks. When said and done you WILL end up with genuine, authentic Mexican beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
pretty tasty..added 2 jalapenos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
You know this is a great recipe when my girlfriend from southern Mexico asks for the recipe. We love heat so the only real change was to add more peppers. I have made this several times and have seasoned around the style of meal I was planning. This is a big reason why these beans deserve 5 stars. This recipe lends itself perfectly to adaptations. ( Imade it exactly to recipe specs the first time which was well received by my family of 7)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I used salt pork instead of bacon and chicken broth in place of water. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillyPilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
OMG!!!!!!! What a FANTASTIC recipe! I have been trying to master this style of beans for a decade and thanks to this recipe, I finally have! I made as written (as in I didn't omit anything), but added 1 Tbsp cumin 1 tsp chile powder and garlic powder and my secret ingredient was 1 Tbsp of dried minced onion. The saltiness and potent flavor of the minced onion really pushed this dish over the top. I also briefly blended them in my food processor for a more "refried" consistency, It also blends the flavors really well. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe, it is a keeper!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen DeLaCova

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
so bland. sooooo boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eahnn
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Thank you! I am a transplant from the West Coast and I have missed really good Mexican food. I wanted some refried beans and I don't know what possessed me to look up the term Mexican beans. Anyway, the long and short of it is that these are the beans I grew up on. I only used a couple of tbsp of cilantro because I was low and because I quick soaked the beans, they cooked quickly. I added some red bell pepper, but it was just to use it up and I am sure that it would be great just the way you made it. I will steer clear of using the whole bunch of cilantro because I know so many people are cilantro adverse. This is a wow recipe and very simple. I made it last week and we're making it again tonight. For those that like fresh flour tortillas but can't get them, Mission now has raw tortillas that you cook on the stove top. They are next to the canned biscuits at the super market. I honestly was blown away by the tortillas. The bean burritos were awesome. For the record, I am in no way affiliated with Mission, I just hate store bought flour tortillas and these were seriously life changing. I even spoke to the manager at Super Target to make sure they don't stop carrying them. This is a GREAT recipe. I have been talking about these beans, to anyone who will listen, for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutButterJellyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I brought these to a Mexican-themed potluck, and they went over very well. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States