Mexican Bean and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I skipped the cheese and substituted (mild) minced chilies for the Chipotle peppers. I liked this recipe because butternut squash can taste too sweet and the ingredients prevent the squash from over powering everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Betsy, I am so sorry you miss read the recipe. It is two peppers from a can of chipotles, not two cans of chipotles. Wow, I bet that was spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
So delicious! I completely left out the chipotle peppers, and it didn't make this any less tasty. Don't leave out the lime juice because it adds a great flavor to the broth. I'm not sure if it was a mistake in the recipe, but I only used 2 cans of chicken broth (4 cups) b/c it was all I had on hand. It seemed like the right amount of liquid to me. So I'm wondering if the 2 quarts of chicken broth may have been in error? 1 quart would have been plenty. The sweetness of the squash and the texture were just so good! My kids ate it up and requested that I make just plain squash the next day. This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Loved this soup! I increased the veggies (a whole big onion, more celery and carrots), used 1 1/2 qts of water instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian, used 3 chipotle peppers which made it spicy enough that I didn't let my dog have a taste but not too spicy for the vegetable flavors to come through, and added some chopped mustard greens. Used red kidney beans because I didn't have the white ones. I didn't bother with the toppings which brought the calories down under 200 per serving and much lower fat. It was delicious. Thumbs up from my husband, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I neglected to add in the peppers since our grocery store doesn't carry them but the recipe turned out great with a little extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I made this soup last night and my roommates loved it! 2 of them are vegan, so i used vegetable stock and i didn't have the right type of beans so i used garbanzo beans. I also had no limes, chipotle peppers or cheese, but the soup was delicious! especially the next day for lunch :) I will DEFINITELY make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I knew I would like this recipe, because I love this sort of food. Like the recipe says, it lends itself well to substitutions and/or additions. I used one chipotle pepper as I had a half can of extra hot rotel to use up. Next time I will use all chipotle peppers for heat, as I missed out on the smokiness two peppers would have given it. I added a can of pinto beans, as I like a more stew like soup. I used cilantro instead of parsley, dried basil, and veg, broth and water instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian. My squash was already cooked, so I added it with the beans and liquids after sauteing the onion, carrot, and celery. I added some leftover roasted red pepper leftover from pizza night, but I don't think it was enough to change the flavor any. I think it would be fun to add something green like kale to give it more color. I also think almost any leftover meat could be added (though what do I know, I haven't eaten the stuff in 15 years).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very good, hearty soup! The only change I made the first time was to use vegetable broth rather than chicken. The second time I made it I increased the amount of chipotle peppers because we like spicy food. We skipped the cheese, though. Even though I'm a huge fan of cheese the soup has plenty of flavor and really doesn't need the cheese (or added fat and sodium). It makes a very big pot of soup, and the reheated leftovers are great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made a few changes and it still turned out great. I left out the celery and peppers and increased the butternut squash. I used cilantro instead of parsley and 1 1/2 quarts veggie broth instead of chicken. I also left out the sour cream and cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
5 stars for sure! We loved it! I made it just like the recipe stated. the lime and toppers are a MUST..do not skip. I also needed to use up a homegrown squash that was given to us. so good. family raved about it. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRIRENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States