Mexican Bean and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
So delicious! I completely left out the chipotle peppers, and it didn't make this any less tasty. Don't leave out the lime juice because it adds a great flavor to the broth. I'm not sure if it was a mistake in the recipe, but I only used 2 cans of chicken broth (4 cups) b/c it was all I had on hand. It seemed like the right amount of liquid to me. So I'm wondering if the 2 quarts of chicken broth may have been in error? 1 quart would have been plenty. The sweetness of the squash and the texture were just so good! My kids ate it up and requested that I make just plain squash the next day. This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I knew I would like this recipe, because I love this sort of food. Like the recipe says, it lends itself well to substitutions and/or additions. I used one chipotle pepper as I had a half can of extra hot rotel to use up. Next time I will use all chipotle peppers for heat, as I missed out on the smokiness two peppers would have given it. I added a can of pinto beans, as I like a more stew like soup. I used cilantro instead of parsley, dried basil, and veg, broth and water instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian. My squash was already cooked, so I added it with the beans and liquids after sauteing the onion, carrot, and celery. I added some leftover roasted red pepper leftover from pizza night, but I don't think it was enough to change the flavor any. I think it would be fun to add something green like kale to give it more color. I also think almost any leftover meat could be added (though what do I know, I haven't eaten the stuff in 15 years).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
It's great! Vary the hotness with the adobo sauce. I know that one is supposed to seed the chiles but I didn't bother. Have not used the sour cream, but the lime is REALLY important. Didn't have it the first time, but the adobo sauce cries out for lime...Also, I zap (microwave) the squash initially for a couple of minutes and it is MUCH easier to peel. This also freezes well. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good soup. I needed to use a butternut squash that had been sitting on my counter, and this popped up on an ingredient search. I'm always looking for healthy and/or vegetarian soups. This one fits the bill of healthy, so it was a great one to try. I used the whole squash (probably about 3 cups or so) and a large Vidalia onion. I also had to sub a few ingredients (used adobo seasoning instead of the separate spices, black and pinto beans--3 cans because I like it nice and thick like a stew--and fire-roasted crushed tomatoes instead of diced). Served with the accompaniments called for as well as chopped avocadoes. To the reviewer who used 2 CANS of chipotle (and to anyone making this in the future!), please note that the recipe calls for 2 CANNED chipotle peppers rather than 2 whole cans! 2 peppers add a nice note of heat but not too much. Oh, and I didn't bother to seed the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Betsy, I am so sorry you miss read the recipe. It is two peppers from a can of chipotles, not two cans of chipotles. Wow, I bet that was spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very good, hearty soup! The only change I made the first time was to use vegetable broth rather than chicken. The second time I made it I increased the amount of chipotle peppers because we like spicy food. We skipped the cheese, though. Even though I'm a huge fan of cheese the soup has plenty of flavor and really doesn't need the cheese (or added fat and sodium). It makes a very big pot of soup, and the reheated leftovers are great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I skipped the cheese and substituted (mild) minced chilies for the Chipotle peppers. I liked this recipe because butternut squash can taste too sweet and the ingredients prevent the squash from over powering everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I neglected to add in the peppers since our grocery store doesn't carry them but the recipe turned out great with a little extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I don't mind spicy foods, but the 2 cans of chipotle peppers in adobe sauce made this soup WAY too spicy. Tried to fix it by going heavier on the butternut squash and adding a lot more chicken stock, and black beans, but the spice wouldn't quite go away. The flavor was good but everyone was breathing fire! I also blended the soup because the appearance and texture of it looked like vegetable soup. I would except a thicker consistency for a bean and squash soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wonderful soup that cooks quickly for its hearty flavor. I especially appreciate how flexible it is ... the chipotles are key and everything else works around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States