Mexican Bean and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wonderful soup that cooks quickly for its hearty flavor. I especially appreciate how flexible it is ... the chipotles are key and everything else works around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Yum! This is a great, healthy fall soup! Like the recipe says, I think you could probably play around with what veggies were in the soup without problems - we didn't have any celery, but added more carrots and corn than the recipe called for and it was still really good! We also skipped the cheese and just topped with sour cream and chips - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Delicious! Like others said, this soup is very substitution friendly. I left out the corn and added 2 extra cloves of garlic, 1 extra small onion, and extra carrot to combat the spice. I didn't both seeding the canned chipotle peppers. Like it a little more healthy? Use plain, nonfat greek yogurt instead of sour cream, 2% cheese and hold the tortilla strips. Lime is a MUST! I served this soup with a toasted whole-wheat bun (100 calories) as a hearty lunch and it was FANTASTIC!!! Definitely worth the pain of cubing that darn butternut squash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I made this soup 4 times already! I love it so much (but I'm a huge fan of squash). It was such a yummy mexican twist on squash that I have enver had before. And I also love that its a perfect hearty vegetarian lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made a few changes and it still turned out great. I left out the celery and peppers and increased the butternut squash. I used cilantro instead of parsley and 1 1/2 quarts veggie broth instead of chicken. I also left out the sour cream and cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I skipped the cheese and substituted (mild) minced chilies for the Chipotle peppers. I liked this recipe because butternut squash can taste too sweet and the ingredients prevent the squash from over powering everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I made this soup last night and my roommates loved it! 2 of them are vegan, so i used vegetable stock and i didn't have the right type of beans so i used garbanzo beans. I also had no limes, chipotle peppers or cheese, but the soup was delicious! especially the next day for lunch :) I will DEFINITELY make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
5 stars for sure! We loved it! I made it just like the recipe stated. the lime and toppers are a MUST..do not skip. I also needed to use up a homegrown squash that was given to us. so good. family raved about it. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRIRENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good soup. I needed to use a butternut squash that had been sitting on my counter, and this popped up on an ingredient search. I'm always looking for healthy and/or vegetarian soups. This one fits the bill of healthy, so it was a great one to try. I used the whole squash (probably about 3 cups or so) and a large Vidalia onion. I also had to sub a few ingredients (used adobo seasoning instead of the separate spices, black and pinto beans--3 cans because I like it nice and thick like a stew--and fire-roasted crushed tomatoes instead of diced). Served with the accompaniments called for as well as chopped avocadoes. To the reviewer who used 2 CANS of chipotle (and to anyone making this in the future!), please note that the recipe calls for 2 CANNED chipotle peppers rather than 2 whole cans! 2 peppers add a nice note of heat but not too much. Oh, and I didn't bother to seed the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
It's great! Vary the hotness with the adobo sauce. I know that one is supposed to seed the chiles but I didn't bother. Have not used the sour cream, but the lime is REALLY important. Didn't have it the first time, but the adobo sauce cries out for lime...Also, I zap (microwave) the squash initially for a couple of minutes and it is MUCH easier to peel. This also freezes well. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States