Mexican Bean and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This has become a go-to recipe for me. Everyone I've ever served it to loves it. I use black beans instead of cannellini, and fire roasted diced tomatoes, and omit the basil (seems weird here), just my preference. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
YUMMO! very spicy as-is, so i now cut down on the chipotle pepper (i have little ones). i also have added various types of beans along with the black since making it the first time. my family loves it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made this to use up some extra squash, expecting only to find it so-so, but it turned out delicious! I used nonfat plain yogurt in place of the sour cream. Will definitely be making this one again. Would adapt pretty easily to the crock pot, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Excellent! The only thing I added was a pinch of salt to the mirepoix and I used black beans. Top Notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
delicious blend of flavors. I am a sucker for anything with chipotle so added more like 4 and it was just right. Also added more carrots and onions. Finally I also added lentils b/c I had no beans and some pasta bows. very versatile base to work from
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is a great fall soup! Don't know if they were meant to but my squash stayed in soft chunks and I loved it. Since we like food spicy I might add 1 more Chipolte pepper.Didn't think I needed the sour cream (calories) but did add a bit of the cheese. I wasn't very impressed with the cannellini beans has anyone used another kind? Will be on my do again and again list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Simply Delicious! I made this soup for my hubby last night, and he said it was my best recipe yet. My husband happens to be the cook in the family, and was really impressed. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefJade
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Great tasting vegetarian soup - I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. I had a surplus of squash from my garden so this recipe added to menu variety/possibilities. I love the sweet and nutty flavor of butter squash and the spice was a nice contrast in this dish. I used fresh soaked beans and skipped the sour cream. I didn't have lime, but I'm sure it would have been more amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJade

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed this especially with the limes. I added a can of navy beans and roasted the butternut squash with a little olive oil rather than frying it. I do wish I would have only used one chipotle pepper as it was too hot for the kids. ( This coming from kids that live in and eat Louisiana spicy foods.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great recipe, but as usual, I modified it and see how it could be made many ways and still taste great. I didn't have chipolte's, so added some smoked wild turkey I had in the freezer for the smoke flavor. Skipped the basil (just did'nt sound right) and used some powdered red pepper, a bit of salsa and canned diced tomato with jalepeno. Didn't feel it needed corn chips, sour cream or lime. Just enjoyed it as it was. Suspect it will taste better tomorrow, IF there's any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States