Mexican Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I personally liked this stew and would make it again. needed to add a lot of water while cooking so as to keep it moist and stew like. served over brown rice for a healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is sooooo good! I had to make a few substitutions because I didn't have all of the ingredients handy, but I'm looking forward to trying it again with the proper ingredients. Cinnamon was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This recipe is wonderful! I have even non-vegetarians eating and requesting this one! Very filling and pretty easy to make a well. I make this a lot. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
My wife and brother loved this recipe. The cinnamon and cumin really make a nice flavor. I added about 4 cups of water and 4 teaspoons of vegetarian bullion and let it sit in the slo cooker most of the day on low. It made the dish a soup. The flavors blended nicely. I also used canned black beans and garbanzos rinsed and drained. I used 1 can whole corn with liquid instead of frozen. We served with shredded cheddar. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I loved this recipe. I'm embarassed to admit, I went back for several helpings after dinner. Using canned beans made for really speedy prep. The end result was fantastic. I had never had garbanzo's before and they were one of the ingredients I enjoyed most. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great recipe...I really enjoyed it! My comments are on the technique...soak the beans separately to avoid discoloring. Also, when you bring them to a boil, lower the heat and partially cover the pot. A mexican olla traditionally used to cook beans has holes in the cover to let steam escape.They should be cooked at a simmer,not a full boil. If you need to add water, add hot water from a kettle or tea kettle on the stove top. Never add cold water..it lowers the temp too much! Finally, when you cook the onions, add the garllic only after the onion has turned translucent... browning the garlic will make it bitter! This is a great dish for all of us bean lovers. I've made it as directed and also have added cooked and crumbled chorizo... great both ways! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Wonderful, easy, and cheap recipe! I added more cayenne and cinnamon and added raisens for more flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I've pulled a couple dozen recipes from this site and I've never been impressed enough to write but this is a fabulous and easy recipe to throw together. It's hard to believe how good it is for you. I must admit I am on a salt free diet so I used a salt free seasoning I found at Costco. For convenience I just threw in canned beans for all three types. Because it sounded like there should be some liquid after boiling the beans, though not specifically stated, I drained them into a measuring cup and 'replaced' the 1 1/2 cups of juice with a salt-free chicken broth. Everyone at work loved it with our BBQ over the usual beans that appear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Very nice. I made this while a hurricane was knocking on our door. Cheated by substituting two 15oz cans of black beans and 1 can of Garbanzo, and adding 1.5 cups of chicken broth. Didn't have corn on hand so skipped it. The cinnamon added a lovely layer of flavor. The cayenne added an essential edge. A dollop of sour cream might have been nice, but did I mention the hurricane....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
We found this recipe while on a Daniel Fast, and had it the last day of the fast and it was SO GOOD that we added it to our regular meals list. We love the flavor the cinnamon an cumin added. Great with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Johnson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States