Mexican Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great recipe...I really enjoyed it! My comments are on the technique...soak the beans separately to avoid discoloring. Also, when you bring them to a boil, lower the heat and partially cover the pot. A mexican olla traditionally used to cook beans has holes in the cover to let steam escape.They should be cooked at a simmer,not a full boil. If you need to add water, add hot water from a kettle or tea kettle on the stove top. Never add cold water..it lowers the temp too much! Finally, when you cook the onions, add the garllic only after the onion has turned translucent... browning the garlic will make it bitter! This is a great dish for all of us bean lovers. I've made it as directed and also have added cooked and crumbled chorizo... great both ways! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Overall, this is a good base recipe but I added a few more items (celery, carrots, onion and brown rice) to make it as filling as possible. I also added a carton of cherry tomatoes alongside the tinned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I've pulled a couple dozen recipes from this site and I've never been impressed enough to write but this is a fabulous and easy recipe to throw together. It's hard to believe how good it is for you. I must admit I am on a salt free diet so I used a salt free seasoning I found at Costco. For convenience I just threw in canned beans for all three types. Because it sounded like there should be some liquid after boiling the beans, though not specifically stated, I drained them into a measuring cup and 'replaced' the 1 1/2 cups of juice with a salt-free chicken broth. Everyone at work loved it with our BBQ over the usual beans that appear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
who would have though all those beans together could make such harmonious music! mind you, I did use navy beans in place of garbanzos as I had soaked navy/pinto and black beans the night before I found this recipe. 2 other changes, used one can of Rotel (amazing stuff!) and one packet of Goya Sazon! PERFECT amount of heat! I also threw in some yellow bell pepper that I had to use up. For those that are indecisive on the cinnamon - OMG! you HAVE to make sure you add it in! This IMO makes this dish amazing! As another reviewer stated, it brings a whole other dimension of flavour! So....what are you waiting for? Get out the stock pot and make a batch TODAY! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
The soup was really muddy and the black beans ran so all the beans looked really dirty. I made alot because I thought that it would be good and boy did I regret that. Might have been better if I had drained off the water that I boiled the beans in. The flavor was much too beany. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Very nice. I made this while a hurricane was knocking on our door. Cheated by substituting two 15oz cans of black beans and 1 can of Garbanzo, and adding 1.5 cups of chicken broth. Didn't have corn on hand so skipped it. The cinnamon added a lovely layer of flavor. The cayenne added an essential edge. A dollop of sour cream might have been nice, but did I mention the hurricane....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Unless you plan to feed the whole Mexican Army, use only half the amount of beans, double the tomatoes, double the onion, and add your favorite spices. Next time after triple soaking the beans (always soak your beans three times), I will use my pressure cooker. The corn should be added at the last moment, just to heat through. This recipe is an inexpensive way to feed your family wholesome food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This recipe is wonderful! I have even non-vegetarians eating and requesting this one! Very filling and pretty easy to make a well. I make this a lot. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I loved this recipe. I'm embarassed to admit, I went back for several helpings after dinner. Using canned beans made for really speedy prep. The end result was fantastic. I had never had garbanzo's before and they were one of the ingredients I enjoyed most. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I think this recipe has potential but we didn't care for it as is. I would cut the cinnamon down or out if I were to make this again. The smell and taste of the cinnamon was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States