Mexican Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This recipe is wonderful! I have even non-vegetarians eating and requesting this one! Very filling and pretty easy to make a well. I make this a lot. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
The soup was really muddy and the black beans ran so all the beans looked really dirty. I made alot because I thought that it would be good and boy did I regret that. Might have been better if I had drained off the water that I boiled the beans in. The flavor was much too beany. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I personally liked this stew and would make it again. needed to add a lot of water while cooking so as to keep it moist and stew like. served over brown rice for a healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Three stars is stellar praise from me considering I'm not a fan of beans. I didn't like the beans by themselves, so I served them with Mexican rice, lettuce, sour cream, and tortillas and made wraps, which were tasty. The touch of cinnamon adds a nice unexpected flavor to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
My wife and brother loved this recipe. The cinnamon and cumin really make a nice flavor. I added about 4 cups of water and 4 teaspoons of vegetarian bullion and let it sit in the slo cooker most of the day on low. It made the dish a soup. The flavors blended nicely. I also used canned black beans and garbanzos rinsed and drained. I used 1 can whole corn with liquid instead of frozen. We served with shredded cheddar. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
good, filling everyone liked it. Servings are very large
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Unknown, California, USA
Living In: Unknown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I loved this recipe. I'm embarassed to admit, I went back for several helpings after dinner. Using canned beans made for really speedy prep. The end result was fantastic. I had never had garbanzo's before and they were one of the ingredients I enjoyed most. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
To me, a four rating means that I would be really excited about preparing this dish again. Thus, I'm giving this recipe a three rating. Yes, I enjoyed it. The somewhat exotic taste of the cumin and cinnamon are surprising. Still, it wasn't as tasty as I expected. Maybe next time I'll try this on pasta rather than alone as a side dish. I added another can of tomatoes because the first can left the dish too dry. I will probably make this again someday but what I have will last awhile; the recipe provides a lot of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Very bland. I used a little more cumin, onion, garlic then the recipe called for, and I also added hamburger to it. And it just didn't have much flavor. I probaby won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This recipe did not have as much flavor as I had hoped, but still had a good taste. The servings are large and it is filling. I think next time I make it, I will prepare the garbanzo beans seperate becuase the black beans dye them an unappetizing shade of purple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States