Mexican Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I don't think I've ever been asked for a recipe so often! Crowd pleaser for sure. I didn't have fresh cilantro so used dried, but other than that followed the recipe to the letter. Lots of dressing, but I think it's good like that. Serve with a slotted spoon and you're fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! I made it as written BUT, didn't have chili powder so used some Sriracha sauce, and voila! worked like a charm. Remember to taste as you go if you use that stuff, though ... the heat will sneak up on you. Also, I put half the bean mixture into a gallon plastic bag - then dumped half the dressing on it, then filled it with the rest of the beans/peppers/onion and poured the last of the dressing over everything. 'Massaged' it all to get everything coated and stuck it into the fridge overnight (although I did pull out a little a couple hours later just to see if it was okay and happily, it tasted wonderful) The finished product is something your family and friends will definitely appreciate - it went over really well with my husband and he's not what you'd call a huge bean fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Was perfect! We all loved it. Best to make at least one day before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
A good recipe for a make-once, eat-all-week lunch. I'm not usually a fan of beans/bean salads, but I thought I'd give this a try since it seemed healthy and filling while still being convenient and easy. After making it last night and having a portion for lunch today, I've added this one to my recipe box to make again. While I wouldn't rave about this as some others have, the flavors are interesting enough that I don't think I'll get sick of it even after eating it all week (a problem I have a lot with eat-all-week lunches). I followed the recipe as written, but didn't add any hot sauce/chili powder since I can't handle the heat! As almost all others have noted, the amount of dressing is a little excessive/unnecessary so I'll probably cut that in half next time. Otherwise, I thought the flavors were good and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justginster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is a really good recipe. The salad is colorful and the dressing is tropical, rich, and tasty. I chose to let each individual apply their dressing themselves instead of to the entire salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by  SmallbutSmartCook
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I cooked it without cilantro and onion, still delicious. Although I do not understand why did we need parsley. I use it as a topping of decoration. Instead of using the white beans I used white corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I can never leave a recipe alone. I cooked 1/2 cup wheat berries in 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth & added a few cloves of whole garlic. I made my beans from scratch and used 1/4 cup black beans, 1/4 cup cannellini beans & 1/4 cup small red beans since I'm not fond of kidney. This almost equaled the 3 15 oz cans. I also added 1/4 cup of sliced black olives, 1/2 cup jarred salsa, omitted the red onion & used 1/3 cup sliced scallions and 1/4 cup chopped celery. I also crushed the cooked garlic cloves & added to the dressing which I adjusted to my taste. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Offen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
SOOOO happy I finally found and made this recipe. It's no wonder it got all the rave reviews - it's delicious! And this is before I've even had time to let it sit and let the flavors meld in the fridge! I can't stop eating it already. Didn't change one thing - and wouldn't. It's perfect as is. Will be making again and again I'm sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Just made this recipe and it's AMAZING! The flavors are just right. In hoping to get my kids to eat it, I omitted the dash of hot pepper sauce, and it was still yummy. Brightly colored, hearty, and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I love this salad! The more it sits, the better it gets. Tons of protein and veggies, it's a very healthy salad. I look forward to making it this summer for a refreshing treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States