Mexican Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I can never leave a recipe alone. I cooked 1/2 cup wheat berries in 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth & added a few cloves of whole garlic. I made my beans from scratch and used 1/4 cup black beans, 1/4 cup cannellini beans & 1/4 cup small red beans since I'm not fond of kidney. This almost equaled the 3 15 oz cans. I also added 1/4 cup of sliced black olives, 1/2 cup jarred salsa, omitted the red onion & used 1/3 cup sliced scallions and 1/4 cup chopped celery. I also crushed the cooked garlic cloves & added to the dressing which I adjusted to my taste. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
SOOOO happy I finally found and made this recipe. It's no wonder it got all the rave reviews - it's delicious! And this is before I've even had time to let it sit and let the flavors meld in the fridge! I can't stop eating it already. Didn't change one thing - and wouldn't. It's perfect as is. Will be making again and again I'm sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Just made this recipe and it's AMAZING! The flavors are just right. In hoping to get my kids to eat it, I omitted the dash of hot pepper sauce, and it was still yummy. Brightly colored, hearty, and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I love this salad! The more it sits, the better it gets. Tons of protein and veggies, it's a very healthy salad. I look forward to making it this summer for a refreshing treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Instead of the cilantro (hate it) I use kale. Otherwise, I pretty much go with the recipe. Very good after it sits in the fridge a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I do a lot of different bean salads, and this one is now my favorite. The vinaigrette for it is so bright and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Every single time I've made this for company or taken it to a potluck, someone asks me for the recipe….no lie…every single time (and I've been making it for several years now). This recipe is a gem. It's no trouble to make a day ahead of time…it only gets better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made a double recipe for a Derby Party. Everyone loved it. Even when doubled I only used a quarter of the oil and vinegar. Also only 1 tablespoon salt and an eighth of sugar. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
As soon as I got the marinade put together I knew I would like it. It smelled so fresh! I did spin all the marinade ingredients plus the cilantro in my small food chopper to blend it well plus you get the taste of the cilantro without chewing on the leaves. I think you could use almost any bean combination but I like to stick to the original recipe the first go round. I did use frozen corn this time but wouldn't hesitate to use canned shoe peg corn. This is one recipe that just keeps getting better. By the time I was enjoying the last bite I was already planning on making it again. I'm also going to try the marinade on meat. I'm also going to try replacing the Italian dressing in a pasta salad with this marinade. Can you tell I really liked it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made this exactly as written. I took it to a ladies' dinner at church and got rave reviews. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States