Mexican Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Easy to make. Omitted peppers and hot pepper sauce. Added the cilantro after two days. Made this recipe for my husband, not myself, and he loved it. He added it to an omelette, ate in tortillas. He gives it 5 Stars. I give it 3 Stars because for about 12 hours after he ate this salad I couldn't stand to be within five feet of him; THE MOST OFFENSIVE ONION BREATH EVER! I ended up adding more corn, beans and cilantro which may have helped a little, but not enough. Next I'll be adding it to some pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This makes a great summer salad! I added halved cherry tomatoes, and, since I'm not a cilantro lover, I left it out, and the salad still had a wonderful flavor. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I have taken this to a few parties and it has been a huge hit every time! Thank you for such a yummy recipe that people ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a wonderful summer salad to take to a picnic. It makes a great side for dinner or an awesome hearty lunch. I made it exactly like the recipe states the first time and loved it. The next time I tweaked it a bit for my family's tastes and liked it even more. Here is what I did: used all lime juice instead of the lemon/lime combo, used two ears of fresh corn cut from the cob instead of the frozen corn, substituted 2 Tlbs. honey for the sugar, added one finely chopped jalapeno pepper and used Chipotle chile pepper instead of regular chile pepper. It's a bit spicier than the original, but we like spicy foods in our house. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
So good! I added extra cilantro and cut back on the red onion. Great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. By far, the best bean salad I've ever had. Make no changes. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is delicious! I didn't have any green peppers so I used a yellow pepper in its place. So yummy. I brought it to a luncheon and was asked several times for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Used 1 tbsp sugar, omitted cilantro and hot pepper sauce- still tasted pretty awesome! Lime to lemon ratio was off because of the size of each fruit but it was good regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I leave out the corn, but this is a fantastic bean salad. It takes a lot lot longer than 15 minutes of prep time to gather ingredients, open cans, prepare the dressing and prepare and combine the separate ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was very good! I halved the oil and vinegar, per many people's recommendations, and ended up using 1 1/2 large bell peppers and only 1 Tbsp of sugar. Used a can of (drained) corn to save time, which also worked very well. All the other amounts were followed. This was great on its own and would probably be even better as a side to a meat dish. Would probably also be great with chips or over tostadas. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States