Mexican Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This bean salad deserves an A Plus and at least 5 stars!! I made it 3 times in about 6 weeks and it was hit every time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This stuff is awesome! Pretty easy to make, stores well and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I make this all the time because it's so good. I changed it to balsamic vinegar, just lime juice, no lemon juice, add in either a Serrano or Habanero pepper, a dash of salt, and no sugar. So delicious with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I wasn't sure how this dish would turn out, having had experience previously with similar dishes, all of which rated "ho-hum" in my book. This dish, however, really surprised me. Other than cutting the oil, vinegar and sugar in half as suggested in many other reviews, coupled with allowing the beans to marinate for a day, I made the recipe as-written. The end-result was delicious and even my wife, who hates all things legume, admitted that it was very tasty and that it almost made her forget her dislike of beans. That in and of itself is a huge endorsement. I've made this recipe twice now and both times it has turned out terrific. This is now my go-to recipe any time that I need a good salad of this type for any event. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Made this recipe for the first time last week as my husband and were looking for healthier side dishes. I took this dish to a cookout yesterday and it was a hit. This bean salad is very good. I reduced the oil and red wine vinegar by half. I also reduced the sugar by half and reduced the salt to 1/2 to 3/4 tbsp. Salt can always be added if more is needed. I also added a little more cumin and chili powder just because we like those spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is not the typical boring bean salad. I made it as a side to expand a family taco dinner and it served six adults and two kids with very little left over. I followed the recipe exactly (except I used a yellow pepper instead of a green because that was what I had)and the sugar and salt were just fine. I agree with the reviewer who said this is better after the first day. I just ate the dab that was left over from two nights ago, and it was even better. I was wondering how it would taste with a little mango added. My daughter-in-law suggested adding avocado. That might be good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I usually find winners at this site but this was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Amazing. Love it. My new obsession.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Made this exactly as written, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Add a bit less than 1/4 c.sugar. Makes enough dressing to add in 1/2 pkg cooked rotini, whole avocado, 2 Romas & 1/2 shredded carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States