Mexican Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Yum!! This is so good, and it makes a ton! Followed the directions exactly, except instead of sugar, I substituted 2 tbsp. of honey (I always do this with dressings, personal preference.) This recipe is a little labor-intensive, but well worth it. We made it on Sunday, kept it in the fridge, and brought it for lunch and/or had it with dinner throughout the week. Such a great way to stretch out meals and get veggies into your diet! Will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I was getting sad because I recently was diagnosed with prediabetes and I started thinking of all the foods that I need to avoid now. This recipe has a low glycemic index and cheered me right up! So savory! I did what other users suggested (very glad I did!) and halved the sugar, oil, and vinegar. I also used a can of garbonzo beans to replace the corn and soaked all of the beans for a half hour to reduce the sodium. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I did not change a thing on this recipe and it was AMAZING! Big hit at a our Father's Day cook out. A light, refreshing, tangy flavor. It says it is 8 servings, but it was fine for at least 12. I did not have an excess of liquid like some people did - even with the frozen corn. I may try using a flavor infused olive oil next time to see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Great summer salad! The best part was that my husband likes it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Add 1 can of beans otherwise followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Delicious recipe, however, based on other writers reviews, I also halved the oil, sugar, and vinegar--I feel I almost could have used even less. Truly delicious once the modifications have been made however!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I love this cool, crisp, colorful and delicious bean salad. It is the perfect summertime side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made this without red wine vinegar, hot sauce and chili powder but it still came out awesome. Even my 14 year old who does not like beans AT ALL ate seconds! Great recipe - a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is my go-to dish for potlucks, BBQs, and teacher "salad" luncheons. It's looks pretty, it tastes delicious, and it can hold up to staying out on a table for a good long while. I tell you this, *every single time* I've made this people (plural) have sought me out or emailed me for the recipe. Last month I dropped it off for a High School teacher appreciation luncheon and I friend texted me that it was the big hit. That's why I always leave the recipe and/or direct them to allrecipes.com. I'm making it tomorrow for a church cookout, and thought I'd write my first review, despite being an AllRecipes member for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Can't say I followed this recipe to the T, but it still came out fantastic! Tastes just like the bean salad you would get at any supermarket or deli. I would follow the suggestions of halving the olive oil and vinegar, however, I do like how the beans soak up the liquids using the full suggested amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States