Mexican Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
WOW! A great meal. Next time, I'll add salsa with each layer and top with more avocado slices. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This is a great dish for a Mexican-themed party. I made this for a Dora the Explorer-themed birthday party, and it was quite flavorful. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Not sure if I made this right as it stacked up like a layer cake. Could have put it on a cookie sheet rather than sided pan as it never touched the sides. Used veggie product shredded cheese as trying to stay away from dairy whenever possible and turned out just fine. Made a beautiful plate presentation because it sat on the plate like a piece of layer cake and could see all the layers. Drizzled salsa over top and garnished with slices of avocado. Very colorful and delicious! Looking forward to making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
too much bean!! I think more corn and less refried beans would help. I would probably fix again but I think I would leave pintos out completely, half the refried beans and double the corn. Maybe add salsa on each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I served this at a potluck, and people generally liked it but I thought it was bland even though I doubled the amount of spices and pepper. I will try this again with variation in spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
My contribution to Thanksgiving dinner each year is to make a dish my vegetartian sister can eat. This one was a hit, and even the meat eaters liked it. I made the filling the night before and refrigerated it, then put the pie together and baked it the next morning. I did add extra cheese and salsa as other reviewers suggested, and mixed all of the ingredients together rather than layering them. Great, simple dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This dish was a hit! The tortilla and cheese on top became crispy and delicious during baking. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I thought I would really like this, and that it would be a great meatless alternative, but I wasn't that impressed. I've had similar recipes that were better. Perhaps I would have preferred it with green chiles instead of jalpenos. My husband liked it fine, but I haven't made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Very filling and easy to prepare. Subbed onion for green pepper (I didn't have one on hand -- if I made this again I'd use both). We liked how the tortillas got a little crispy. Definitely serve with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was absolutely fabulous! Of course I did forget to add the chili powder, but the sour cream and salsa added the extra kick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States