Mexican Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Yummy! I took the advice of other reviewers (who said it was a little dry) and added salsa to each layer. My boyfriend and I found the end result to be just right. I also ended up having quite a bit of bean mixture left (it wouldn't all fit in my pan), so I just wrapped the leftovers in tortillas to make burritos, which I then took for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Very good! My whole family loved it, even the die hard carnivores :) I did leave out the can of pintos, since I didn't have any on hand. It was fine with just the black beans and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I added a can of tomatoes with jalapenos and used medium salsa for the right amount of kick. I didn't have any olives or corn, but will try next time. My springform pan created a beautiful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I thought this was very good. I used one large green chili pepper instead of the bell pepper and jalapenos, which I sautéed for about two minutes with 1/4 cup of chopped onion before I added all the beans. I also used two ears of fresh corn instead of canned. I used low-fat Mexican cheese blend. Also, I made this in a pie plate instead of a cake pan, and I had too much filling for all the layers, so I only had 3 layers. I also think the salsa was important for the flavor. I used some hot salsa, and I think if I had omitted that I would not have liked it as much. I can see where substituting different kinds of beans would be nice, but the refried beans are definitely key to get it to hold together. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Wow this was great! I did add some chicken sausage with spinach and asagio cheese that was leftover in the fridge. A little too spicy for little kids but the grown-ups loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Delicious! I, too, as some as the others did, substituted diced green chiles instead of the jalapeno. I also omitted the green pepper and added 1 12 oz. can of Mexicorn which has peppers and onions in it. Added more cheese as that's what the kids like! Will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNE49R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This was good and very, very filling. I made some changes: used 2 cans pintos instead of black beans, added 1 Tbs. garlic and oregano and halved the cumin and chili powder, used a can of green chilis instead of jalapenos, and did one fewer layer in the cake pan. It turned out great. It does need the flavor from the salsa and sour cream though; perhaps next time I will mix in a little salsa. Overall, both my husband and I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
A good, solid recipe but would have been very, very dull without the sauces we had with it (pico de gallo, salsa verde, guacamole and sour cream). We will definitely make again as it's a low-fat, high fiber recipe but I'll add something to the bean mixture to get a bit more flavor. I do have to say the presentation was lovely - it looked like a layer cake. I also served it with Homesteader Cornbread from this site - a good match. ETA: I made this again with the three types of beans, 1 can diced chilis, spices, fat free cheese and 5 whole wheat tortillas. If the pie serves 4 (big pieces) - that's 8 WW points per serving. Served with pico de gallo and salsa verde it's a fantastic dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was very good. A winner with my husband. I did not use jalepenos but used green chiles instead. Will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This is really good! I add some chopped fresh cilantro to the bean mixture for more flavor. Instead of using refried beans, I just used two cans of pinto beans and one can of black beans. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States