Mexican Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I made this without the olives, bell pepper and jalapeno pepper because I didn't have them on hand and don't really like them anyway. I also used frozen corn instead of canned corn. It was delicious and had my meat-eating husband raving about what a good meal it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
We really liked this meal. I gave it a five because it is a good base recipe to work off of. If you want it to be more interesting, make your layers more interesting. Mine were as follows. 1st layer, bean mix topped with nacho jalepenos. 2nd layer, sour cream and salsa. 3rd layer, bean mix. 4th layer, fresh salsa puree (tomato, onion, cilantro, garlic, salt in food processor). Final top layer, cheese and olives. Baked 30 mins. Only used black beans and refried beans. Added a little tomato juice to thin out mix. Topped with lettuce and guacamole. Yum! A great quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was a great dish, I will defintely be making it again! I made a couple alterations though, I sauted some onion and garlic before adding the other ingredients. I also added can of diced tomatoes with chiles and some cayenne to spice it up a little more and used frozen corn instead of the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Fantastic! I prepared this for a family dinner with a couple vegetarians in attendance. We planned to have mexican, but having vegetarians we were concerned what to make for them to enjoy. This went over very well. Not only did the veggies like it, everyone else really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
For my tastes, this recipe was pretty bland. I did give it a second chance and this time I added another 1/2 Tbls. chili powder, a chopped onion, and, as another review suggested, layered salsa in the pie. It was much better, but still not too flavorful. I probably won't make it again, but it is good for people who like mild food or for young children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Yum! I used the three cans of beans, half a larger can of black olives (quartered), the half-can of corn, no green or jalapeno peppers, maybe ½ tsp each of cumin and chili powder, about 2 tsp of taco seasoning, a few grinds of pepper, the 5 tortillas, 2 cups of Mexican blend cheese, and we served it with low-fat sour cream and homemade guacamole. :) I also added half a can of diced tomatoes with chilis (and all the juice from the can) so it wouldn't be dry. Instead of making it in a cake pan, I just lined a cookie sheet with a little cooking spray-sprayed foil and I stacked it there. The bean mixture was thick enough that it didn't ooze out all over and it actually looked quite nice. Fast, easy clean up, and my husband didn't complain about the lack of meat. A winner! Thanks so much for sharing, Adele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
After reading the reviews when I made this I mixed Newman's Own Black Bean & Corn salsa in with beans and all. It turned out Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
We loved this! Even the meat eating members of the family agreed it was delicious. I didn't have any black beans so just used pinto and refried and did not mix the refried beans into the mixture, instead I divided about 1/3 of the cumin and chili powder and mixed in with the refried and then spread it over the tortilla layer, then put the other ingredients on. I also sauteed some onion and garlic with the green peppers in a pan before adding in the rest of ingredients. I ended up only using three layers of tortillas and more cheese and baked twice as long, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was really good and easy. I only had 3 whole wheat tortillas, so I substituted corn tortillas for the top 2 layers (3 of the small ones make one layer). I forgot the refried beans at the store, but the other two cans were plenty. I also added half a can of tomato paste, just b/c I had it, and that was good for flavor and consistency. The cheese sort of hardens on top instead of melting...but it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States