Mexican Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Good stuff! Garnished with sour cream and pico for a tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good. Added a small can of mexican tomato sauce to moisten it up. Plus I added a tsp of minced garlic and 1/2 packet of taco seasoning to the refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This was great. Best of all, you can adjust the heat depending on your family's tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
My 11 year old daughter has become a vegetarian, but is picky about what she would like to eat. She made this recipe herself - substituted kidney beans for pintos and left out the olives - and she made two 3-torilla pies instead of one 5-tortilla pie. we all LOVED this recipe and found it very flavorful (we added more chili powder and cumin to the recipe, which did the trick). will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Great recipe! I added minced garlic and some green chilis, left some of the juice in from the beans, used pepperjack cheese, left the seeds in the jalapeno and did not use olives. Wonderful clean-out-the-pantry recipe and, much to my surprise, it stayed together pretty well after cutting. I baked, covered, for 20 min and then 5 more for the cheese on top to brown. Let sit ~5-10 min before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I just wanted to warn people out there who may be as unsuspecting as I was: wear gloves while seeding the jalapeno! I was in intolerable agony for 3 hours because I seeded the jalapeno with my fingers. Fortunately I only got it on my fingers. I tried milk, sour cream, oil, alcohol, coffee grounds, vinegar, etc. I washed it off with dish soap. It just kept on burning...So USE GLOVES. The dish is good, it's hard for me to assess because I was thinking about the pain rather than the food, I would just leave the seeds in next time, and still use gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was easy to make - and certainly different. A nice change of pace. But, we actually found it to be a little on the bland side. I won't be making it a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was a great recipe! We thoroughly enjoyed eating it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is wonderful, but a few changes are suggested, replaced the pepper with a can of green chiles, and added a lot more spices than the recipe calls for like chipotle, garlic and chili powder, also topped with taco sauce, green onions and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Great idea, and really tasty recipe. I like to save time when I can, so I simply spiced the bean mixture with our store brand's Mexican Seasoning blend and the jalapeno. I used a Mexican blend of shredded cheeses instead of cheddar, and the dish turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States