Mexican Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So cheap, easy, tasty, and filling! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathymcelhose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Easy as pie! (Pardon the pun). I didn't have chili powder on hand (I know, bonehead move), so I used 2 tbsp smoked chipotle Tabasco. It worked AMAZINGLY. I also used the corn/diced pepper mix and used a red bell pepper, and when I made it the second time (yes, the SECOND TIME), I mixed in chili powder to the shredded cheese before I sprinkled it on, just for an extra kick. Easy, and tasty, especially with a couple of cervesas. (Cervesas optional.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
combined with double crust bean pie....i think it was too spicy, but the boys loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Summers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Needs crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very tasty! I added cilantro, onions and mushrooms - left out the jalapeno b/c i didn't have one. I can see where it would be a little dry, it almost seems that the 10 minutes of stove top is unnecessary. It is easy and quick and adaptable so enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I have tried a couple of bean pie recipes and this one is my favorite. I prefer this because it is dry and beany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this recipe last night for dinner and everyone loved it. I used a spring form pan and let it cool for 10 minutes before placing it on a serving platter. It came out beautifully - I would have taken a picture if my family wasn't chomping at the bit to start eating it! I didn't give it 5 stars because there was a bit too much cumin IMO. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurieP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very filling. Use a can of Mexicorn, 1 1/2 Cups picante, 1 can chopped green chiles. Omitted black olives, green pepper and jalapeno. Topped with lettuce, black olives, sour cream and salsa. Everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Love this recipe. I took careful note of the other reviewers comments regarding the lack of spice so I spread salsa on each tortilla before I put the beans on. I also cooked with beans with some pepper relish. Love it. Love it. Love it. This will be a staple. Thanks for the easy great healthy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Pretty good, I added rice and alternated layers or beans and rice.Still missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States