Mexican Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So cheap, easy, tasty, and filling! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathymcelhose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Easy as pie! (Pardon the pun). I didn't have chili powder on hand (I know, bonehead move), so I used 2 tbsp smoked chipotle Tabasco. It worked AMAZINGLY. I also used the corn/diced pepper mix and used a red bell pepper, and when I made it the second time (yes, the SECOND TIME), I mixed in chili powder to the shredded cheese before I sprinkled it on, just for an extra kick. Easy, and tasty, especially with a couple of cervesas. (Cervesas optional.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
combined with double crust bean pie....i think it was too spicy, but the boys loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Needs crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very tasty! I added cilantro, onions and mushrooms - left out the jalapeno b/c i didn't have one. I can see where it would be a little dry, it almost seems that the 10 minutes of stove top is unnecessary. It is easy and quick and adaptable so enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I have tried a couple of bean pie recipes and this one is my favorite. I prefer this because it is dry and beany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this recipe last night for dinner and everyone loved it. I used a spring form pan and let it cool for 10 minutes before placing it on a serving platter. It came out beautifully - I would have taken a picture if my family wasn't chomping at the bit to start eating it! I didn't give it 5 stars because there was a bit too much cumin IMO. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurieP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very filling. Use a can of Mexicorn, 1 1/2 Cups picante, 1 can chopped green chiles. Omitted black olives, green pepper and jalapeno. Topped with lettuce, black olives, sour cream and salsa. Everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Love this recipe. I took careful note of the other reviewers comments regarding the lack of spice so I spread salsa on each tortilla before I put the beans on. I also cooked with beans with some pepper relish. Love it. Love it. Love it. This will be a staple. Thanks for the easy great healthy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Pretty good, I added rice and alternated layers or beans and rice.Still missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States