Mexican Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Hubby and I loved this! I have made it numerous times with numerous variations. It's a fun recipe to play with. Thanks for the healthy, meatless, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I'll give it a 4 star with this recommendation. I used fresh black beans, soaked and cooked until tender. I added saute onion and a quick pulse on the food processor for the beans. lots of cayenne pepper to taste, salsa and topped with avocado and plain yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dablacks77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Substitute 1/2 package of taco seasoning (I prefer Taco Bell brand) for the cumin and chile powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made this tonight and love it, although I did not follow to the T. I didn't veer too much off the original recipe! I used 1 can of corn instead of 1/2 can (I like corn), used corn tortillas (my preference over flour), omitted the green pepper (don't like) and olives (would've used, but didn't have), and added a can of green chiles (did have on hand) after reading other reviews regarding blandness. This is a Mexican version of comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Good recipe for a quick supper. The ingredients are something you can have on the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
fell apart after coming out of oven even after letting it sit out for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Changed it up some for our taste. Just a couple spoonfuls of salsa for less heat and made up for flavor with chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This is a good idea for a filling meal, but it is pretty bland. I recommend increasing the spices and adding some salsa right into the bean mixture. Doing those two things do help the flavor, but the submitted recipe is just too bland for me. Thanks for sharing, though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I can't believe how good this is! I left out the can of pinto beans and I am glad I did. This was already a lot of filling. I also left out the green pepper because I didn't have one and the jalapeno because I don't like spicy food. I don't like when people rate without using the exact recipe first, but this was so good I had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Great vegetarian meal. I started by sauteeing some onion and bell pepper, then added some crushed garlic. Then I added all the ingredients called for, adding a can of diced tomatoes and some onion powder (and leaving out the jalapeno because my hubby doesn't like spicy). Came out yummy, but next time I think I will smash all the beans with a potato masher for texture purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States