Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This was pretty good. I used the George Foreman Grill for 10 minutes each side and it turned out pretty firm and crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
These were great on the grill. Like many others, I used black beans. Also, I substituted half the salsa with green chili which was amazing. The original recipe I thought was kind of bland, so play around with spices to get something you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Good! I minced the carrot, sauteed it with the pepper, onion, and some minced garlic, then added everything else, plus some worcestershire sauce, Thai chili sauce, and lots of cumin. I started w/ 1 cup of salsa & added as needed. I think I wound up using about 1.5 cups. Oh! And I used one can of black beans instead of kidney and baked them for about 15 minutes at 425, flipping half-way. They were really good topped with the leftover salsa. Next time, I want to try it without the flour, because they are heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This was a lot of work and the consistency was really terrible I ended up ordering takeout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Taste: 5 stars, texture: 3 stars. Following the advice of other reviews, I added about 1 1/4 cups salsa and used black beans instead of kidney beans. Also, I sauteed the onions and peppers before forming the patties. They had a very nice spice from the chili powder. The salsa I used had corn in it and I think next time I would add even more corn. Re texture: even frying them--they were still a bit mushy. I like a burger with a bit more resistance, if that makes sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Yum!!! I have a vegetarian friend and wanted to make her a veggie burger from scratch instead of buying a frozen one at the grocery store. I used black beans instead of kidney...and I didn't use carrots. I sauteed the onion and bell pepper in olive oil, salt and pepper and used Italian Style bread crumbs to spice it all up...the key, however, is rubbing Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce all over the patty before you put it on the pan. Also, the salsa I used had just a little corn in it (didn't know that when I bought it) and I liked it a lot so I might add in some corn next time. They were fabulous!! Even die-hard meat lovers couldn't stop munching on them...so great!!!!!! You could even try sauteeing mushrooms with your onions...lots of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Make sure you taste the batter and adjust seasonings until you are happy with it. Great basics though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
These are awesome! I used to get a delicious black bean burger at a restaurant in OKC and have been looking for an equivalent/replacement here at home. Finally found it! (Happy dance!) I did make a few modifications - based on others recommendations and my personal taste. First - I used black beans (which I drained and rinsed really well.) Then I chopped the carrots and sauteed them w/ the chopped onions, garlic and some cumin - and I replaced the bell pepper w/ chopped green chili. And threw in a few squirts of Tabasco Chipotle sauce. I also suggest starting w/ 1/2 cup of salsa at the end and building from there to the right consistency. Sear the burgers and then drop the temp in the pan and cook slowly to cook all the way through. The flavor is fantastic and my husband and I loved it. 7 year old stepdaughter liked it "a whole lot." We followed the recommended serving suggestions and really enjoyed dinner tonight! Thanks Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
We love these served on whole wheat buns with tomatoes, avocado, lettuce, pepperoncini, and sliced onions. We grill the buns lightly, top with these veggies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
This was a good recipe. It was just what I was looking for, except I used black beans instead of kidney beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States