Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This was a lot of work and the consistency was really terrible I ended up ordering takeout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Taste: 5 stars, texture: 3 stars. Following the advice of other reviews, I added about 1 1/4 cups salsa and used black beans instead of kidney beans. Also, I sauteed the onions and peppers before forming the patties. They had a very nice spice from the chili powder. The salsa I used had corn in it and I think next time I would add even more corn. Re texture: even frying them--they were still a bit mushy. I like a burger with a bit more resistance, if that makes sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Yum!!! I have a vegetarian friend and wanted to make her a veggie burger from scratch instead of buying a frozen one at the grocery store. I used black beans instead of kidney...and I didn't use carrots. I sauteed the onion and bell pepper in olive oil, salt and pepper and used Italian Style bread crumbs to spice it all up...the key, however, is rubbing Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce all over the patty before you put it on the pan. Also, the salsa I used had just a little corn in it (didn't know that when I bought it) and I liked it a lot so I might add in some corn next time. They were fabulous!! Even die-hard meat lovers couldn't stop munching on them...so great!!!!!! You could even try sauteeing mushrooms with your onions...lots of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Make sure you taste the batter and adjust seasonings until you are happy with it. Great basics though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
These are awesome! I used to get a delicious black bean burger at a restaurant in OKC and have been looking for an equivalent/replacement here at home. Finally found it! (Happy dance!) I did make a few modifications - based on others recommendations and my personal taste. First - I used black beans (which I drained and rinsed really well.) Then I chopped the carrots and sauteed them w/ the chopped onions, garlic and some cumin - and I replaced the bell pepper w/ chopped green chili. And threw in a few squirts of Tabasco Chipotle sauce. I also suggest starting w/ 1/2 cup of salsa at the end and building from there to the right consistency. Sear the burgers and then drop the temp in the pan and cook slowly to cook all the way through. The flavor is fantastic and my husband and I loved it. 7 year old stepdaughter liked it "a whole lot." We followed the recommended serving suggestions and really enjoyed dinner tonight! Thanks Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
We love these served on whole wheat buns with tomatoes, avocado, lettuce, pepperoncini, and sliced onions. We grill the buns lightly, top with these veggies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
This was a good recipe. It was just what I was looking for, except I used black beans instead of kidney beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
These were not bad. I do think I made the burgers too thick - they stuck to the pan before they were done in the middle. Next time I will add something spicy like jalapenos to the mix, and I will make very thin burgers so that it is easier to cook them completely. This is a great recipe - I think with some practice on my part and a little spice it could easily be 4 or 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I enjoyed the taste but they were very moist. They stuck to the fry pan when I tried to cook them that way and to the baking pan, I had even used non-stick cooking spray. I baked them longer than indicated and topped them with monterey jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This is the first time I made any thing like this. It taste so wonderful it's to the ponit that my whole family is trying to be a vegetarian like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States