Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Awesome vegetarian recipe, instant hit with us. We served the patties without any bread with a salad to accompany, and I felt very healthy after eating. In place of expensive salsa, I used a can of diced tomatoes which was just fine. Cook on lower heat because these babies'll burn on med-high heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I shredded the carrot - they cooked fine in 2 min. that way. Left out the green pepper since I don't like it. I liked the *taste* of these. I've tried them w/different kinds of buns, and with different toppings including melting some cheddar on them. I've only had the packaged soy burgers years ago and these do taste better than those. (The one good thing that came from this is that now I'd like to try the packaged black bean burgers.) However, I think the recipe itself has some major issues. They do fall apart easily and I don't think the green pepper would be enough bulk to keep them together. Even people who cut the salsa in half commented on this. I was afraid to cut it too much cause they might then be just too flour-y with no flavor. (The oats might not be a bad substitute.) And they burned VERY easily. I fried them, turned the temp down a second time and they just still wouldn't get done without burning. I didn't care so much that they were mushy inside (made them taste like refried beans), but I did care that they burned. Then I tried baking them - that left them without any form and tasteless - I think baking is a bad idea. I finally tried my no-stick electric skillet with NO OIL and that's how they did the best. I think the oil or spray is part of what's making them burn, but they also stick easily. In the end I just got stick of messing with them. (They also do not keep well in the fridge even for 2 days.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This by far beats store bought bean burgers. I made 2 changes no carrots and added milled flax seed. I fried them a little so they wouldn't fall apart on the grill. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
What a great tasting vegetarian burger! I have frozen these and they still turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Not bad but not something I'm in a hurry to make again. Next time I'll omit the carrot (or dice it super finely maybe) and add fresh cilantro. I baked them per the instructions and they were rather wet and mushy inside. I'll probably bake them at a lower temp for longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
i cant say i followed this recipe exactly(im sure it would have been great if i did though)but i only used it as my base. i used a 15oz drained can of pintos. orange bell pepper because thats all i had on hand. no onion only powder because i didn't have one so i replaced the texture of it with 6 baby portabellos. i had no salsa so i chpped up 1 tomato, i hot pepper, and some cilantro which made a little over 1 cup of salsa. 1/2c oats in place of bread crumbs and cayenne pepper for the black pepper. they were absolutely scrumptious.... lol also didn't fry i sprayed pan with Pam and let them brown up and become firm. Soooo much better than store bought. im 13 and if i can make them so can you so you must try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dae14
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These burgers were very good. Even though the recipe did not call for egg, my burgers stayed intact throughout the cooking process (I cooked them in a pan with only a little cooking spray). I used the salsa and flour as needed and, for both ingredients, ended up needing less than the recipe called for. We ate them open-faced with spinach, tomato, mustard and relish. Wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I love this recipe! It is so easy and even my 3 year old could help make them. I will definitely be adding this recipe to the monthly meal plan. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Make these quite often -- even tried one crumbled on the Mexican Whole Wheat Tortilla and it was great! Definitely saute the onions and peppers first. Subbed oats for the whole wheat flour and crumbled dry toast instead of using bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I think these are great. I've made them twice. The first time I cooked them in the skillet according to directions, but they turned out mushy was the only problem. Then I tried baking them according to directions and they still turned out mushy. You definitely need to flip these halfway through baking and I would recommend at least 15 minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States