Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
mmm this recipe was very good, and easy to follow. i felt that the range of baking time given was too long, 15-17 minutes should be just right. i substituted mushroom pasta sauce for the salsa, since i was out of salsa, and it gave the patties a bit of a mushroomy tang. thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
These were quite easy to prepare and very tasty. next time I will decrease the salsa a bit. I did add more spices to this more chili and some cumin. Oh and I also used black beans instead of kidneys.. this was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
These were pretty good. Didn't have wheat flour so I used wheat germ instead. I also cut back on the salsa and added cayenne plus other seasonings. Nice lunch, just for me. Thanks Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I've never made my own veggie burgers myself and was scared to try, but this was quick and easy. However, I kind of figured 2 cups of salsa would be way too much, so I used only 1 and it was exactly right. I also used black beans because we love them, a red bell pepper instead of green, and took another reviewers suggestion to cook the chopped onions and peppers first so they wouldn't be crunchy. I got eight nice patties out of this and fried them. Served them on buns with a little sour cream and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
These were easy to make and the flavor is great. I steamed mushrooms with the carrots and left out the onion. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
these burgers were great! I pan fried the burgers and also used black beans. I added cumin and a pinch of Goya (All purpose seasonings blend) and about a teaspoon of shakable Chicken flavored granules because my family loves s-p-i-c-y authentic taste~ (being I am Mexican and my fiance is Dominican) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I've always wanted to make veggie burgers from scratch! And this was an easy recipe to follow. However, it did take some time getting all the ingredients and chopping them up. But that's the only thing that keeps me from making them all the time because they were so good. It was one of my husband's favorites and I know I'll be making again because he keeps asking for them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
I use less salsa and more bread crumbs for a thicker mixture so it bakes well. If you want a crispy outside flip them over half way through and turn the oven up to broil for a few minutes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
These were surprisingly easy to make, and they had great flavor. I used black beans, fried half of them and baked the rest. I liked the fried better. However, next time I would lightly grill the pepper and onions so they weren't so crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I made this for my brother and his family. As the only vegetarians in our family, we are always searching for good veggie burger recipes. This one was great that night and the next day. However, it's much better with black beans. They were much more flavorful that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States