Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I think I added too much salsa all at once as this was very wet. But that said, the taste was lovely. I will make this again, but follow the advice of a previous reviewer and add the salsa a bit at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poldweia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northolt, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
We didn't like these. We ate them, but we had made LOTS b/c we do with everything and we always have leftovers for lunch. The next day at lunch the kids were acting as if it was the 'punishment of the day' to have to eat these!! We didn't like the consistency and thought they were a little bland. We'll go back to our other bean burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I've made these a few times usually with black beans and find them overall to be better than most store bought veggie burgers. My friends and family even enjoyed them, who aren't vegetarian. The only thing was the texture wasn't as firm as I'd hoped but the flavor is great so I gave it five stars. I also recommend starting with a half a cup of salsa and adding until a stiff mixture forms, two cups is way too much. Also, I saute the veggies first with garlic, cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Made with Mexican beans as I didn't have any canned kidney beans. Had a great texture. Served just as you would a hamburger & my 1 & 2 year olds ate most of it. Will be making again, experiementing other options. Has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
The taste was good, but the texture just isn't quite there yet. It's hard to shake the feeling that you're eating a bean sandwich. Sadly, I have yet to find a veggie burger recipe that holds together nearly as well as the packaged ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
While making this recipe I was looking forward to having the sort of bean burger I am used to from my favourite restaurant. Unfortunately I didn't quite get there, but the outcome is still pretty tasty. For me the burgers turned out too mushy. I baked them for 15 min with flipping them over half way and in the end put the oven on 'grill' for a couple of minutes. They were nice and crispy on the outside, but too chewy inside. Will try with more breadcrumbs (I had already used less salsa!) or maybe crushed tortilla chips. A very good recipe though and very quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
excellent recipe with excellent taste, however, i have not been able to get them cooked without burning them. maybe that's just the way they're supposed to be, but it would prefer if they weren't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
soooooo delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Very good, moist and chewy/crunchy like real hamburgers, though a different flavour of course. These taste a bit like tacos, all the salsa I guess, especially if you top with the recommended sour cream. I suggest sour cream, BBQ sauce and a dill pickle slice - delicious on a whole wheat bun, and healthy too! I had to microwave the carrot for more like 5 minutes to get it mashable; might just grate it and not cook it at all next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Quite tasty. A nice vegetarian option and they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States