Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This has become my base recipe. The 2nd batch was made with Spagetti sauce instead of salsa, Italian seasonings and two major changes, black beans instead of kidney (that's what I had), and old fashioned rolled oats rather than bread crumbs. The oats give this a more "cooked hamburger" texture. The third variation on this recipe was a regular burger, replace salsa with beef broth, add garlic powder or minced garlic and a bit more oats if the mixture seems too watery. Fantastic and easy. Giving this 5 stars because of how versitile this is. Going to try making breakfast sausage with this next, it's mostly the spices that provide the taste anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent! I used half black, half kidney beans and used a little green, yellow, red and jalapeno pepper to make up the 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Fantastic! I figured veggies are all created equal, so I used what I had :-) I used black beans, celery instead of green pepper, and mushrooms. I sauteed celery, mushrooms, onion, carrot, and garlic together before mixing them with the beans. Like everyone else, I added far less salsa. I served it on a 100 calorie wheat bun with sliced tomatoes and homemade chipotle mayo. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was a fantastic and easy recipe. The burger tasted great and held together so well even when I shapped them into thinner pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I made these last night for my husband and myself. They were fantastic! (I am eating leftovers for lunch right now... :) I did sautee the pepper and onion first and only used one cup of salsa as other reviews suggested (and I'm glad I did) When I first started it seemed like one can of beans wouldnt be enough, but the bread crumbs really bulked it up. I only wish the consistancy was just a bit more stiff... it holds together fine, but its a bit mushy when you bite into it (maybe I should have cooked longer?) Next time I will add some egg whites in hopes of having a firmer consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I didn't really care for these. They really wanted to fall apart on me and were difficult to keep together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was a great base idea.. like others I altered to suit my taste. I LOVE kidney beans, so I stuck with that - lightly cooked the peppers and onion - and went ahead and added some cumin and chili powder. I also used oat flour and fresh whole wheat bread crumbs as a binder. 1/4 cup of salsa was all that was needed for me. Mixed it all with my hands, pan fried, and loved every last bite! Great left-overs.. mine ended up being 5 pretty large patties to fit our buns. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Virginia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Absolutely fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Thought this was a fantastic burger! We added a handful of Parmesan and it really took the burgers to another level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummycreampuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Not a big bean burger fan and this definitely didn't change my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States