Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by L_L
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This was great! Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I would just need a super flavor explosion for that. But these were easy, loved that it was full of veggies, and they were yummy the next day! I imagine these would freeze well! The only thing I changed was replacing the bread crumbs with crushed pico de gallo tortilla chips because that's all I had. The recipe said to add more salsa or more flour depending on wetness and I needed to add just a bit more flour. They got perfectly crispy on the grill. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe is very good. I wish it was a bit firmer. I made a small loaf and then the rest I made burgers and put in the freezer. They grill very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I cooked these last night for the family. I did only add the salsa after I had added the dry ingredients and I probably used a little over a cup. I did not want they too soggy as others had suggested. I thought it could have done with a little more flavor (other than the amount of salsa I used exact recipe). I will make again but I will probably add some extra spices and probably a dash of Worcestershire sauce. They held up well but I made them before dinner and put them in the fridge for about an hour. I cooked them on the George Foreman too. It made 8 decent sized patties and I put 4 in the freezer and will see how they hold up to thawing and cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Healthy and FULL of flavor! This was soooo very good. I couldn't quite get the burger to stay solid, so I made like a sloppy joe out of it. It was awesome! The hubby even liked it and he is a meat and potato kind of guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Replaced the carrot w 3/4 cooked sweet potato, cooked the onions with some garlic in butter before adding to the beans. added a little lime juice and mustard, used maybe 1/2 cup salsa and omitted flour. these are going to be regulars at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
My youngest son and I loved these, but my husband couldn't get past the word 'burger'. I think that next time, I'll serve this mixture and etc. more as burritos......, then the flavor can shine and the texture not come into question just because of the name..... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made these but added some olive oil and fresh parlesy and herbs. They were excellant-my teenage son ate 5 of them! On a wheat roll w/lettuce and tomatoe and condiments you can't tell its a veggie burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflysky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unoticedshifd
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These burgers came out great, but the 2nd time I changed a little bit. Instead of kidney beans I used 16 oz bush's refried beans. I didn't use chili powder or carrots. And I thought the green peppers and onions were better sauteed in olive oil. Just as a footnote, when forming the patties, wet your hands before forming them and the mixture won't stick to your hands as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
these are some of the best veggie burgers i have ever made. i used my hand blender on the beans and carrots and that made everything nice and sticky. i followed the recipe pretty well, but i used red pepper and i threw in some mini portobello mushrooms and i fried the onions, pepper and mushrooms before adding it to the rest of the mixture. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Husband LOVES these and I have to admit they are darn tasty. Heavy though and I meant weight, not feeling in the tummy. Didn't need buns and topped with guac.... yum. Despite the jarred salsa, it didn't taste salty at all, which I was afraid of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States