Mexican Atole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Mine turned into a kind of thick cinnamon-gravy...is that normal? I did half and half with milk and could drink it, but I feel like I did something wrong. I only had corn starch so I used that and brown sugar (no extra molasses) I also just put everything in the pot and whisked - does adding the vanilla after prevent the gravy effect??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A good reminder of mom's great cooking. This atole is sweet and has a nice thick texture. I added an extra tbls brown sugar, also used 3 cups water and 2 cups whole milk. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Really good hot drink to substitute for your coffee or drink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This hit the spot. It was very comforting. I am used to a brighter flavor, but I would make this again. It was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I would not trade this for my own recipe. I use water, 2% milk, Maseca, cinnamon sticks, and Abuelita Mexican Chocolate. Portions are: 2 cups, 6 cups, 7 heaping T four 2 inch sticks and 2 rounds of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Different for sure, but we enjoyed it. We prefer eating it with spoons rather than sipping it out of mugs. My son really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
It was okay. It is better to drink champurrado. I would add some latino chocolate substitute part of the water with milk, add more sugar. I do not think I will make atole plain. A good base recipe to make something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm Mexican and this is almost like the ones you find in Mexico, avery body has their own changes, at home and in many places is common to addjust tiny amount of Mexican chocolate at the end, like a tbsp. Or as you said some pured fruit. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sra Carranza

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
It may be just my taste, but this was not enjoyable at all. It sounded good, and I'm pretty sure I didn't do anything wrong, but it just didn't turn out how I expected. Sorry for the bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calcifer'sKitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
How sweet and delicious! I had only brown sugar, no piloncillo and used about half milk, half water. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States