Mexican Atole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is great and I have made it for years. I will often us a combination of water/milk and white sugar/brown sugar to alter the flavor. Some people also add chocolate or mashed berries but I prefer it plain with lots of cinnamon and vanilla. Try this and you will not be disappointed. Also to the person who said cornstarch is authentic....they are dead wrong. Masa is authentic. Also if you have to use brown sugar because you cannot find pilocillio and want a more authentic taste...add a touch of molasses. I usually don't even when using plain brown sugar but some folks do. In addition....Champurrado is pretty much atole with the addition of Mexican chocolate. Both are made with masa when its available (and pretty much is everywhere)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Love Atole, I use Amaranth flour in mine and love it best with peach puree on top. So good! Has a very interesting history too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My family loves atole and I used this recipe for Christmas this year. I did however use about 3/4 water and 1/4 milk. I think the cinnamon was a bit too strong because I tripled the recipe and 3 tbsp was a lot. Next time I will use a cinnamon stick instead. This is a wonderful traditional Mexican drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm Mexican and this is almost like the ones you find in Mexico, avery body has their own changes, at home and in many places is common to addjust tiny amount of Mexican chocolate at the end, like a tbsp. Or as you said some pured fruit. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sra Carranza

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is my very first experience with Atole & I'm totally impressed. I do think I will use a combo of water/milk the next time I make it. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitrn01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Really good hot drink to substitute for your coffee or drink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
How sweet and delicious! I had only brown sugar, no piloncillo and used about half milk, half water. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I think it depends on what part of Mexico you're from, whether you use cornstarch or masa.There are 6 families on my block that are either 1st generation Americans(parents are from Mexico) or resident aliens from Mexico. I asked them and got 4 different answers.2 said they had never had atole, 1 said masa, 1said cornstarch, and 2 said a mixture of masa and cornstarch. Even those 2 couldn't agree. One said a 50/50 mix, the other swore by 2parts masa and 1part cornstarch. All the neighbor's families are from different parts of Mexico, with the 2 who halfway agreed coming from areas about 150 miles apart. Cornstarch is, by the way a super-fine cornflour. It is to masa harina what powdered suger is to table sugar. Around here horchata is much more common. I hadn't heard of atole in years. Growing up, my neighbor sometimes made it in winter. She used 3parts masa and 1part cornstarch. She also would add a pinch of ground coriander to the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This tastes fantastic. To the person who says that in México we use corn starch let me tell you that she is absolutelly wrong. I am mexican and I am used to drink atole since I was born and we use always CORN FLOUR. I never use piloncillo since I don't like the taste of it and prefer to use simply brown sugar and lots of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Im a first generation American so I grew up drinking authentic atole every Christmas. My mom learned from her grandma and this recipe is close enough except my mom always used milk. When using water the consistency will be off and just won't be nearly as good and creamy. Note: never put your finger inside atole. If you don't know what I'm talking about try it an you will find out what I meant. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States