Mexican Atole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is great and I have made it for years. I will often us a combination of water/milk and white sugar/brown sugar to alter the flavor. Some people also add chocolate or mashed berries but I prefer it plain with lots of cinnamon and vanilla. Try this and you will not be disappointed. Also to the person who said cornstarch is authentic....they are dead wrong. Masa is authentic. Also if you have to use brown sugar because you cannot find pilocillio and want a more authentic taste...add a touch of molasses. I usually don't even when using plain brown sugar but some folks do. In addition....Champurrado is pretty much atole with the addition of Mexican chocolate. Both are made with masa when its available (and pretty much is everywhere)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My family loves atole and I used this recipe for Christmas this year. I did however use about 3/4 water and 1/4 milk. I think the cinnamon was a bit too strong because I tripled the recipe and 3 tbsp was a lot. Next time I will use a cinnamon stick instead. This is a wonderful traditional Mexican drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is my very first experience with Atole & I'm totally impressed. I do think I will use a combo of water/milk the next time I make it. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitrn01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I had this once in Mexico, I was eager to recreate it at home. However, I think I messed it up! I don't really understand what masa/corn flour is. I used store-bought Maseca brand instant masa harina. That might be why it didn't taste quite right, lol. Aside from that, I think for my tastes I'd like it to be a little sweeter. And one more thing: I don't know if there's a way to make atole that doesn't require so much babysitting at the stove. This recipe took quite a while, I stirred for at least half an hour while waiting for the liquid to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palisades Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I scaled this down to 2 and used 75% water 25% milk. no idea what it should taste like but will make again, we enjoyed . thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It's a rainy, cold morning here, so I decided to try this. My first sip: Yum! And different. I halved the recipe, using about 1 3/4 c water and 3/4 c milk. I also used regular brown sugar, since I didn't have piloncillo. And then, while the mix was simmering, I added a small handful of chocolate chips! Pretty tasty! Just be sure to watch the mixture, because it will boil over if the heat is too high. Had to keep a strict eye on mine and keep stirring with a whisk. And I think.... if it takes a half hour for the mixture to come to a boil for you, there might be something wrong with your stove! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I would like to note that the the key ingredient for the mexican Atole is corn starch. The term "corn flour" can be a little confusing. Maybe if you try with corn starch you can get a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Andere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico
Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This tastes fantastic. To the person who says that in México we use corn starch let me tell you that she is absolutelly wrong. I am mexican and I am used to drink atole since I was born and we use always CORN FLOUR. I never use piloncillo since I don't like the taste of it and prefer to use simply brown sugar and lots of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Love Atole, I use Amaranth flour in mine and love it best with peach puree on top. So good! Has a very interesting history too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
champurrado is made from corn flour and no milk. atole is made from corn starch and milk. the name masa is water and corn flour, (dough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ysidro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States