Mexican Atole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I think it depends on what part of Mexico you're from, whether you use cornstarch or masa.There are 6 families on my block that are either 1st generation Americans(parents are from Mexico) or resident aliens from Mexico. I asked them and got 4 different answers.2 said they had never had atole, 1 said masa, 1said cornstarch, and 2 said a mixture of masa and cornstarch. Even those 2 couldn't agree. One said a 50/50 mix, the other swore by 2parts masa and 1part cornstarch. All the neighbor's families are from different parts of Mexico, with the 2 who halfway agreed coming from areas about 150 miles apart. Cornstarch is, by the way a super-fine cornflour. It is to masa harina what powdered suger is to table sugar. Around here horchata is much more common. I hadn't heard of atole in years. Growing up, my neighbor sometimes made it in winter. She used 3parts masa and 1part cornstarch. She also would add a pinch of ground coriander to the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Just a note that the atole made with cornstarch is known as atole the maizena. My grandmother would make all the time and is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
champurrado is made from corn flour and no milk. atole is made from corn starch and milk. the name masa is water and corn flour, (dough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ysidro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Love Atole, I use Amaranth flour in mine and love it best with peach puree on top. So good! Has a very interesting history too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This tastes fantastic. To the person who says that in México we use corn starch let me tell you that she is absolutelly wrong. I am mexican and I am used to drink atole since I was born and we use always CORN FLOUR. I never use piloncillo since I don't like the taste of it and prefer to use simply brown sugar and lots of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I would like to note that the the key ingredient for the mexican Atole is corn starch. The term "corn flour" can be a little confusing. Maybe if you try with corn starch you can get a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Andere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico
Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It's a rainy, cold morning here, so I decided to try this. My first sip: Yum! And different. I halved the recipe, using about 1 3/4 c water and 3/4 c milk. I also used regular brown sugar, since I didn't have piloncillo. And then, while the mix was simmering, I added a small handful of chocolate chips! Pretty tasty! Just be sure to watch the mixture, because it will boil over if the heat is too high. Had to keep a strict eye on mine and keep stirring with a whisk. And I think.... if it takes a half hour for the mixture to come to a boil for you, there might be something wrong with your stove! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I scaled this down to 2 and used 75% water 25% milk. no idea what it should taste like but will make again, we enjoyed . thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I had this once in Mexico, I was eager to recreate it at home. However, I think I messed it up! I don't really understand what masa/corn flour is. I used store-bought Maseca brand instant masa harina. That might be why it didn't taste quite right, lol. Aside from that, I think for my tastes I'd like it to be a little sweeter. And one more thing: I don't know if there's a way to make atole that doesn't require so much babysitting at the stove. This recipe took quite a while, I stirred for at least half an hour while waiting for the liquid to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palisades Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is my very first experience with Atole & I'm totally impressed. I do think I will use a combo of water/milk the next time I make it. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitrn01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States