Mexicali Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
I used frozen peppers and corn which worked fine. I also added a couple cloves of minced garlic, some cumin, and a dash of cayenne. I also served over couscous instead of rice. This is a really easy and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This is a great recipe! We had to bake it about 45 minutes due to doubling the recipe, but it was still only about one hour from start to finish. Added rinsed canned black beans to the recipe and used Vidalia onions. Just sprinkled a little McCormick's Salt and Spice over the finished recipe for a little zing. Yum! The kids love it and love helping wash veggies and chopping them with my Pampered Chef food chopper. (It really makes things like this easy.) I also baked in stonware for a better taste. Serve it over fresh rice and the corn-rice combo makes it extra healthy. I trimmed the fat off the chops so it is really low fat. This recipe would work for chicken or beef and be just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
I used very thick pork chops that took about 30 minutes to cook. Very Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
My husband and I loved this dish. My 9 year old son didn't. He's not crazy about tomatoes and meat. I didn't have canned tomatoes WITH green chilis so I used plain canned tomatoes and added some chopped jalepenos. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
These are pretty good chops, very different from the many others I've tried before. I too added a dash of cayenne pepper and cumin to each chop while frying, which added a noticeable kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Although I liked the vegetable mixture, the pork was completely tasteless. If I make this again, I would marinate the pork with olive oil and tex-mex seasonings like chili powder and cumin for a while before cooking it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This was actually very good. I'm afraid of anything that has that much "good food" in it. But any dish that gets me to eat onions and peppers has got to be worth five stars. Incidently, I just put it all in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I thought this was great. I also added a cup of black beans as one reviewer suggested. It does need spice, so added garlic, salt, pepper and chili powder to the veg. mixture and put the chili directly on the chops-yummy. I would be happy with the mixture over the rice as a meatless meal. Weight Watcher friendly, points depend on size of chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This was a great dish!I chose to make it in skillet on the stove.I also used Italian style diced tomatoes and 3oz tomatoe paste to make it thicker.It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
I prepared this dish slightly differently. I used a cast iron skillet - browned the chops first using cayenne pepper and Paul Prudhomme's Meat Magic for seasoning. I removed the pork chops and kept them warm while I sauteed the vegetables and added the corn and tomatoes as directed. I then put pork chops back on top, added a glass cover and popped it in the oven for approx. 25 minutes. Saved on clean-up that way. It came out very well - we served as is (without rice) and had corn bread to go with it. A complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States