Mexicali Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This is a great recipe! We had to bake it about 45 minutes due to doubling the recipe, but it was still only about one hour from start to finish. Added rinsed canned black beans to the recipe and used Vidalia onions. Just sprinkled a little McCormick's Salt and Spice over the finished recipe for a little zing. Yum! The kids love it and love helping wash veggies and chopping them with my Pampered Chef food chopper. (It really makes things like this easy.) I also baked in stonware for a better taste. Serve it over fresh rice and the corn-rice combo makes it extra healthy. I trimmed the fat off the chops so it is really low fat. This recipe would work for chicken or beef and be just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This was actually very good. I'm afraid of anything that has that much "good food" in it. But any dish that gets me to eat onions and peppers has got to be worth five stars. Incidently, I just put it all in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I thought this was great. I also added a cup of black beans as one reviewer suggested. It does need spice, so added garlic, salt, pepper and chili powder to the veg. mixture and put the chili directly on the chops-yummy. I would be happy with the mixture over the rice as a meatless meal. Weight Watcher friendly, points depend on size of chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This was a great dish!I chose to make it in skillet on the stove.I also used Italian style diced tomatoes and 3oz tomatoe paste to make it thicker.It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
I prepared this dish slightly differently. I used a cast iron skillet - browned the chops first using cayenne pepper and Paul Prudhomme's Meat Magic for seasoning. I removed the pork chops and kept them warm while I sauteed the vegetables and added the corn and tomatoes as directed. I then put pork chops back on top, added a glass cover and popped it in the oven for approx. 25 minutes. Saved on clean-up that way. It came out very well - we served as is (without rice) and had corn bread to go with it. A complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This Was great! Hubby loved it.I followed other reviewers and rubeed cayenne and paprika to the pork and I loved the kick it gave. Will definately fo this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedle Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was really good. I made a few changes though. The vegetable turned out great and instead of using diced tomatoes i used Pace Salas. Also i seasoned the pork chops with Mrs Dash seasoning and added a few drops of blasamic vingeratte. Let it marinate while i was cooking the vegatables. I served it with lipton's dirty rice. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Pork chops were tender and not dry at all. The veggies were verty tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalimuffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was so easy to make and my guy loved it. He thought I went to a lot of trouble to do this one. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My whole family loved this ! I had very thick chops so I cooked it for about 50 minutes till the juices ran clear. I have also used orange bell pepper because I didn't have red and green. YUM !!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States