Mexicali Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I thought this was great. I also added a cup of black beans as one reviewer suggested. It does need spice, so added garlic, salt, pepper and chili powder to the veg. mixture and put the chili directly on the chops-yummy. I would be happy with the mixture over the rice as a meatless meal. Weight Watcher friendly, points depend on size of chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
I prepared this dish slightly differently. I used a cast iron skillet - browned the chops first using cayenne pepper and Paul Prudhomme's Meat Magic for seasoning. I removed the pork chops and kept them warm while I sauteed the vegetables and added the corn and tomatoes as directed. I then put pork chops back on top, added a glass cover and popped it in the oven for approx. 25 minutes. Saved on clean-up that way. It came out very well - we served as is (without rice) and had corn bread to go with it. A complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
I used very thick pork chops that took about 30 minutes to cook. Very Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This was actually very good. I'm afraid of anything that has that much "good food" in it. But any dish that gets me to eat onions and peppers has got to be worth five stars. Incidently, I just put it all in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was really good. I made a few changes though. The vegetable turned out great and instead of using diced tomatoes i used Pace Salas. Also i seasoned the pork chops with Mrs Dash seasoning and added a few drops of blasamic vingeratte. Let it marinate while i was cooking the vegatables. I served it with lipton's dirty rice. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
These are pretty good chops, very different from the many others I've tried before. I too added a dash of cayenne pepper and cumin to each chop while frying, which added a noticeable kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This is a great recipe! We had to bake it about 45 minutes due to doubling the recipe, but it was still only about one hour from start to finish. Added rinsed canned black beans to the recipe and used Vidalia onions. Just sprinkled a little McCormick's Salt and Spice over the finished recipe for a little zing. Yum! The kids love it and love helping wash veggies and chopping them with my Pampered Chef food chopper. (It really makes things like this easy.) I also baked in stonware for a better taste. Serve it over fresh rice and the corn-rice combo makes it extra healthy. I trimmed the fat off the chops so it is really low fat. This recipe would work for chicken or beef and be just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
As many of the other reviewers stated, the vegetables are great, but the chops were bland. To help the chops, I spiced up the chops by rubbing with a mexican spice mix, salt, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This recipe is full of flavor....I also seasoned the chops before cooking. I would recommend that you make sure to completely cover the chops with juice so they do not dry out....Great recipe, even my 7 year old gobbled it up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKSMITH1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I seasoned my pork chops with s/p a little chipolte chili powder and some smoked paprika. Cooked per directions but we just didn't care for this recipe. Gave my son the leftovers and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States