Mexi-Italian Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I love this recipe (as amended by me, but still mostly the same). I dropped the olives out because i hate olives. I took half the lemon juice it asks for and swapped it for lime juice for more Mexican flavor. I also add a handful of grape tomatoes because they are so flavorful. With those changes, this recipe works great as salsa on chips or as a flavor boost for sandwiches or lettuce wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Fantastic. Have made a few time w/so many compliments and people scarfing down. Great summer recipe w/a little different twist to regular salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Made for a cornhole tourney... was gone instantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was SO amazing!! Brought this recipe up north for a new salsa app...ALL of my family members wanted this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I was surprised with all the glowing reviews that this did not turn out well at all. I've let it set in the fridge for two days waiting for it to get better, and it's not happening. I'm going to try and find some way to use this to try and avoid wasting food, but the flavor on it's own is unfortunately not good, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I've been looking for some recipes to use some of my fresh basil with and this one caught my eye! I chopped the tomatoes, onions and artichokes separately in the food processor and just mixed them all together with the olives before I folded the dressing in. The only changes I made were to cut out the cilantro (not a fan of it) and add one diced, seeded, green jalapeno pepper. My boyfriend and I both LOVE it and I have been eating it with a spoon all day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deekaybee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I was kinda unsure about how this would turn out, but it was great! The only change I made was to double the cumin. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this for a salsa contest at work and I took 1st!!! It was loved by everyone in the contest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I hate to be the only person going against the tide of positive reviews for this recipe but feel I must. I made this for a family BBQ on Labor Day and it fell flat! Only one person ate it after tasting it, my 21 yr old grandson who states, "if its edible I'll eat it"! Really disappointed after reading so many RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is now my favorite salsa. The addition of the artichokes really enhanced it. I did not have lemon juice but I had fresh lime juice and used fresh lime basil [that I had found at a greenhouse]. I also used a couple of fresh hot peppers. I put it on top of a cheese omelot. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States