Messy Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
I also add tomatoes and black olives. We add the cheese and the tacos individually so we do not ruin the leftovers. Our dressing is half Italian and half Catalina and can be added at the last minute so it does not become too soggy. My family has loved this dish for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I made this years ago only in smaller proportions. It is so good. I'm not sure what ranch beans are, but I use a can of pinto beans. I didn't use hamburger or taco mix, but add tomatoes and ripe olives and use catalina dressing. Crushed up my favorite Dorito's to mix in, yum. You can be very creative with this, just add what you like. Everyone likes it! Thanks Veronika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I did make a few changes. Instead of Thousand Island dressing, I used 16 oz of sour cream. I mixed the taco seasoning and a little salsa with it. I already had these ingredients on hand. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was great, and there so many variations you could use. you are only limited by your imagination here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I brought this to a family picnic last year and it is requested again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPLSVERONIKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Le Mars, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Yummy! Just made this for a party, what a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is the way I make my taco salad, except I prefer to add the taco seasoning to the meat(as if for tacos), and I don't add the beans. You definitely need to let the meat cool a bit before putting it with the lettuce and cheese. I use taco or nacho flavored Doritos for the tortilla chips. We love this and I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
YUMMM. I was looking for one like my mom used to make for our family when we were kids. I also add the tomatoes and the olives. LOVE this. The 1000 island really makes this recipe. Its kinda the equivalent of the "secret sauce" on a big mac! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious salad! I mixed in tortilla strips into the salad and a friend has mixed in frito chips. I liked it better with the frito chips. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
loved it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States