Messy Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
loved it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
i had to doctor this up a lil after doing this it was awesome: i wouldn't do the thousand island unless you like it sweet and just plain yuck... i used another viewers comment and did ranch dressing mixed with taco seasoning for the dressing. also when browning your meat use a lil bit of salsa but the mild kind to it with a lil bit of cumin, chilli seasoning, garlic powder, and onion powder to taste then add a can of drained and rinsed kidney beans. add meat mixture onto of crushed tortilla chips, lettuce, cheese and tomatoes, then add mixture of ranch dressing with taco seasoning mixed in the dressing to it and yummier :) and boyfriend went for 2nd's after this lil bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alishia Marie Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was good. I didn't need 8 servings, so I kinda halved it (no precise measurements). I could not for the life of me find ranch-style beans (perhaps one of the many products we don't get in Canada) and couldn't really find anything close either. I ended up using BBQ beans and rinsing most of the BBQ sauce off of them. That ended up being alright, but there was a bit of a BBQ-y taste with the dressing (not necessarily a bad thing - we still ate it). I think next time (and there will have to be a next time because my dad loved this.. even took leftovers for lunch the next day which he NEVER does, not even when it's something he cooks) I would just use plain beans and try to jazz up the dressing in a different way. A lot of reviewers mentioned using ranch dressing - I liked the Thousand Island, but I wonder how it'd be with a little of each?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
A great way to use up leftover Carne Adovada from the night before and a half empty bag of tortilla chips. We didn't use thousand island, I just made a quick "dressing" out of homemade salsa and reduced fat sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious salad! I mixed in tortilla strips into the salad and a friend has mixed in frito chips. I liked it better with the frito chips. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
YUMMM. I was looking for one like my mom used to make for our family when we were kids. I also add the tomatoes and the olives. LOVE this. The 1000 island really makes this recipe. Its kinda the equivalent of the "secret sauce" on a big mac! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
this had wonderful flavor my family really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was just too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
dressing was too rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is the way I make my taco salad, except I prefer to add the taco seasoning to the meat(as if for tacos), and I don't add the beans. You definitely need to let the meat cool a bit before putting it with the lettuce and cheese. I use taco or nacho flavored Doritos for the tortilla chips. We love this and I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States