Mesquite Smoked Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Careful with the Mesquite it can over power. Good recipe. A cup of soy is a little much for me, My favorite recipe has 1/4 cup of soy a and a 1/2 tsp salt for one pound. So try it, you might just like it. I have to watch my salt, but you have to watch safety. I know this confuses the issue, but be safe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This was fantastic! I will agree that it's a little on the salty side, but I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Made this jerky twice. Making again because it's so delicious that it goes fast! Only difference I made with last batch is used low sodium soy sauce and Splenda brown sugar. Much healthier and just as good! Honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Just tried this marinade. I really like the flavor, but I feel it's a tad bit too salty (at least for my taste). I'll definately make it again, but next time I'll omit the 1/4 tsp of salt. But overall, very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this in my electric smoker minus the liquid smoke, I chose to use mesquite wood chips and I used garlic powder instead of cloves. Turned out fantastic! Was a bit strong at first, but my taste buds soon adapted. Will continue to make this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this last week for the first time of ever making jerky and it turned out great. The family loves it. I'm not a huge fan of beef jerky, but even I liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessmalally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
i tried this it was really good but you should of used garlic powder than minced garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
First, I made this recipe exactly as written. It was great! My children ate the entire batch in one sitting! I don't have a dehydrator, so I set the oven to 170 degrees, stuck toothpicks through one end of the beef strips and hung them from the top oven shelf/grate, propped the oven door open slightly with a wooden spoon, and cooked for 4 hours. I found the first batch a little dry for my liking, so the second time I made it, I added 2/3 cup of worchestershire sauce, 1/4 cup of honey, and 2T of red pepper flakes for some added kick. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My husband used this recipe and liked it overall. He advises following the recipe directions to the letter to ensure the best outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I have a jerky addiction, so I just bought a dehydrator to save some money and make my own. It is in the dehydrator now and smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States