Mesquite Grilled Pork Chops with Apple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These chops were very tasty! The family and I thought the applesauce n chilies was kinda odd. We're Mexican and used to tomatoe based salsa. Glad I had the chance to try these! Thankx Ranger1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I gave this three stars which was an average between the two dishes 1 star for salsa 5 stars for the pork. Salsa way too much pepper/spice against the cool applesauce. Just didn't work. I'd stick to just plain applesauce or some apple chutney for a side with this dish. The pork was awesome with some small modifications. I added rubbed in some Tobasco Chipolte along with some garlic salt, salt/pepper and let set two hours before grilling. We also soaked the mesquite chips in some IPA! We served with a side of beer braised carrots and gnocchi tater tots - a recipe from Top Chef Winner Michael Vittaggio -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountsnowfish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Wardsboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
We love pork and apple recipes so we made this Sunday since it was perfect grilling weather here. Instead of applesauce, I peeled and diced 2 apples. I used one medium onion, diced, but would go with less the next time I made this. Our salsa was not runny but more of an finely chopped apple salad that we put on top of the pork. It was pretty good, with just enough "heat" from the jalapeno. Hubby ate the leftover apple/onion salad as a side dish.....guess he really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
The applesauce made this goopy, just not the flavors I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I was hoping we would like this, but that didn't happen. The pork chops themselves were fine. It's the Apple "Salsa" that is the problem with this recipe. First the texture is just odd, it's definitely not like a regular salsa texture, and it's not smooth like applesauce, and it's not even like the chunky applesauce either. I think it's just an unpleasant texture for most folks both to feel in their mouth and to see with their eyes. When I made it I looked at it oddly, when my teenage son and his friend looked at it they made that same sort of odd face, and then so did my husband. Now for taste, I think that the flavors just don't really blend well together in this manner. The apples are of course cooked (when they were made into applesauce) but the rest is all raw. Even letting it meld together for quite some time just doesn't work for this salsa. The amount of white pepper this recipe calls for is far too much I believe - I only used about 1/4 tsp of fresh white pepper and it was fairly powerful. I think if you played around with the salsa recipe and tried some fresh apples diced finely and adjusted seasonings a bit you might be able to come up with something, but as the recipe stands it just doesn't work. If you are going to try it, I would suggest making a much smaller batch of the salsa also (it makes a LOT) because a - you probably won't like it and b - even if you do like it you wouldn't use that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynWright

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I gave this recipe 3 stars because I would have given the chops themselves 5 stars and the salsa 1 star. My husband and I really didn't care for the salsa; I found the white pepper incredibly overwhelming (1 tbs.??) and even though I can appreciate the taste of onions, this was just a little too much for me. Next time I'll just make the pork chops and skip the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
Nobody at our dinner table cared for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I am looking for the perfect way to Barbeque pork chops - Way #1 - not my favourite so the search continues - to be fair - husband loved the "hotness of the onion and coolness of the apple sauce" - we differ on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Great recipe with lots of flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Yum! We loved this, but I did modify it slightly. I seasoned the chops first with an herb blend and let them sit for an hour. I didn't have applesauce so I used one fresh, chopped apple and a bit of apple juice instead in the salsa. The smoked flavor of the chops was to die for!! Don't overlook that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States