Mesclun and Mango Salad with Ginger Carrot Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Although this is an attractive, quality salad, I must stress that the sesame oil DOMINATES the entire salad and meal if you don't cut it at least by half (in my opinion). I also added a dash of fine sugar to the rice vinegar in order to boost the fruit's power while tempering the sesame oil. I tried serving this with arugula, as well as the mesclun mix, and both fared equally well with about 40-50 guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I personally liked this salad a lot, although I like to try new things. A guest said they preferred "regular' salad. If any modifications, I'd cut down just a little on the oil, and add chopped red onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
The dressing forthis was so easy - elements I always have in my kitchen - the mango added nice color and flavor. I used spinach from a bag. still really good. added some romaine for crunch. the dressing and mango are the punch, any greens would be honored to be adorned with that mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Have made this recipe for two dinner parties; was a hit both times. A good bet for pot-luck dinners where you're not sure what the host is serving as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Very tasty and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Very tasty. When I made the dressing I was worried there wouldn't be enough, but it was fine. I used a bag of spinach instead of hunting around for specialty stuff. The mango and ginger was an interesting and refreshing combo. Our guests went back for seconds! I served it with chicken sate (satay).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
The dressing is very tasty and combines really well with the mango flavor. I also used it on other salads and sometimes minus the shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I love this salad, but find it very TART.....I have had to add sugar or honey to it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This salad is really quite good, but the dressing has a very vinegary taste to it. Next time I make it, I will try scaling back on the vinegar and adding a little more sesame oil or peanut oil. The mangos with the mixed greens is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Crisp, great mix of flavors! Served this for a girls cooking night and everyone asked for the recipe! I make the dressing at least every other week for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States