Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
Great recipe that is really easy for gumbo. My pot would only hold 6 c. of water. I recommend cutting the oil to 1/2 c. I added gumbo file to the entire pot at the end and a little more thyme for added flavor. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I am from and still live in southern Louisiana. I think some people don't realize that good southern cooking takes time. People here love to cook. Alot of us base our weekends on food..inviting friends and family over to share good times being outside on a nice day driking and talking while we cook one stew, gumbo, jambalaya, sauce picante, etc. all day long. Its nice to sit around and smell the good smells while enjoying the day. Good food takes time and is always well worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I've made this gumbo and it is absolutely outstanding. It has a very good flavor and makes a lot of gumbo to serve quite a few people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I have never made any kind of gumbo before. This turned out wonderful! My husband raved about it. I used some Zummo's Party Time Sausage and I was lazy and did not take out the chicken. Thank you for putting in an approximate time to make the roux I would have never stirred it for that long if you hadn't. We will definately be eating this again in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I have grown to love gumbo and most southern food, even though I'm a cali native. I generally add a little more hot sauce, no file (don't usually have it). Also in some versions I add tomatoes or even tomato sauce or paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
With my dad being a Louisiana native, you'd think he'd have taught all us kids how to make a good gumbo, but no. Thank you, Merwin, for stepping in and giving us a great, no-fail recipe! The best part is where you make the roux and the recipe actually says that it takes time, lots of time, to stir and stir and allow the roux to darken and develop that characteristic richness. Absolutely wonderful! I used jalapeno spicy Texas sausage that I bought at Costco, plus some shrimp my dad gets from Louisiana. Before serving, i skimmed the oil/fat from the liquid by using one of those gravy cups. The recipe is excellent when you use quality ingredients. Most of all, I appreciate the technique in preparing the all-important roux. Thank you again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I made this for a New Years Eve party and it was delicious! Almost everyone has seconds. It is very time consuming though, definately a dish for special occasions. I will make this again. Thanks Merwin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHEAD_T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
Delicious! I am a newcomer to Allrecipes. Waiting on a few of my recipes to be published. I normally hate any kind of seafood in a soup/stew, but this has changed my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Made this about four times now. Tastes good! I really enjoy this recipe. Thanks for sharing it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I made this recipe for mid-week meal at my church. It was wonderful! I made a few additions: frozen okra and wild rice. I have had several requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States