Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I made this recipe for mid-week meal at my church. It was wonderful! I made a few additions: frozen okra and wild rice. I have had several requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I am from and still live in southern Louisiana. I think some people don't realize that good southern cooking takes time. People here love to cook. Alot of us base our weekends on food..inviting friends and family over to share good times being outside on a nice day driking and talking while we cook one stew, gumbo, jambalaya, sauce picante, etc. all day long. Its nice to sit around and smell the good smells while enjoying the day. Good food takes time and is always well worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Made this about four times now. Tastes good! I really enjoy this recipe. Thanks for sharing it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This recipe was more time consuming to make. Alot of standing near the stove for this one. The flavor wasn't spicy enough. I didn't care for it myself, but the other family members liked it okay. It needs more veggies I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I have grown to love gumbo and most southern food, even though I'm a cali native. I generally add a little more hot sauce, no file (don't usually have it). Also in some versions I add tomatoes or even tomato sauce or paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I have never made any kind of gumbo before. This turned out wonderful! My husband raved about it. I used some Zummo's Party Time Sausage and I was lazy and did not take out the chicken. Thank you for putting in an approximate time to make the roux I would have never stirred it for that long if you hadn't. We will definately be eating this again in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
Delicious! I am a newcomer to Allrecipes. Waiting on a few of my recipes to be published. I normally hate any kind of seafood in a soup/stew, but this has changed my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I am giving this some-what low rating due to the complexity of the recipe. I am not a Creole/Cajun chef at all and I will take most of the responsibility for the low rating. But I feel disappointed in the final product this recipe served up. For something that takes 3hrs too cook I expected much more. Maybe that’s the problem I “expected” something better. For recipe simplicity I give it 1 star (*) And for final taste I give it a 2 star ratting (**) The taste was very plain. I added some chicken broth to bring out the flavors and this helped a lot. Unfortunately I would not want to go through the hassle or the expense of making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
With my dad being a Louisiana native, you'd think he'd have taught all us kids how to make a good gumbo, but no. Thank you, Merwin, for stepping in and giving us a great, no-fail recipe! The best part is where you make the roux and the recipe actually says that it takes time, lots of time, to stir and stir and allow the roux to darken and develop that characteristic richness. Absolutely wonderful! I used jalapeno spicy Texas sausage that I bought at Costco, plus some shrimp my dad gets from Louisiana. Before serving, i skimmed the oil/fat from the liquid by using one of those gravy cups. The recipe is excellent when you use quality ingredients. Most of all, I appreciate the technique in preparing the all-important roux. Thank you again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I made this for a New Years Eve party and it was delicious! Almost everyone has seconds. It is very time consuming though, definately a dish for special occasions. I will make this again. Thanks Merwin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHEAD_T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States