Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I tried a baked roux (without oil) & did not like it so I made it again tonight, following the directions. While I think the general recipe okay, I have a couple of problems with it. First - I made my roux in an enameled cast iron pan and after 45 minutes it had barely changed color. After reading through some other recipes I turned up the heat to medium & stirred constantly until it reached the right color. This worked better for me. The bigger problem was that the flavor was a bit wimpy. I ended up adding 2 packs of Trader Joe's low sodium chicken broth concentrate and 3 tsp of cajun spice with 1 tsp of salt. In the end we liked it. I would make it again with these changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
OMG Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Great recipe! I haven't made gumbo more than once and this was a great one! My boyfriend said 'Where has this been all his life'... I did add some okra, and celery for the "trinity" seasoning, to compliment the green pepper and onion and make it more authentic. Also put file powder at the end before serving. Yumm! thank you so much:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lysa
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I am from New Orleans and this is the REAL DEAL. It is a bit bland but it is up to you to add your spices. If you taste while you cook, you can get it right. I should have tasted mine more...I used 2 tsp of cajun spice mix and 1/4 tsp of salt. Next time I will try 3 tsp of spice mix and 1/2 tsp of salt. (I am cautious on the salt because I am borderline hypertensive.) I also used a cup of okra because I believe you gotta have okra in gumbo. I'm surprised this didn't have celery in it and might try it with that next time. Also might try substituting some of the water for chicken stock just to up the flavor. This is my 3rd attempt at gumbo and definitely the best one I have made so far. This is a great recipe to start with, now just need to make some tweaks to make it PERFECT. As we say in New Orleans, "dats good eatin'"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is good, but not spicy enough for me and the fam, so I like to "up the ante" a little bit by using 1 cup of cayenne instead of 1/8 teaspoon. Aye Aye Aye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I tweeked mine a little bit more and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was good, but overall I was not impressed. I had to add much more spice to kill the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I would give this recipe zero stars if i could. It was bland and did not have a very good flavor at all. 8 cups of water was definately too much. When I served this to my family they barley touched it and I refused to eat it myself. sorry this just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Tastes great and the leftovers were awesome! Made this for my boyfriend...he loved it! Will make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I've made this gumbo twice now and it is THE BOMB!!! Just finished making for the Super Bowl party and it is going to be a hit. Thanks Merwin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States