Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Oh wow... This was SENSATIONAL. Labor intensive but so worth it. I did adjust a couple of things after reading reviews about it supposedly being "bland". With these little tweeks it was superb. I added two tsp of dry cayenne pepper, 1 tsp of white pepper, about 15 dashes of Louisiana hot sauce, 1 1/2 tsp red chile flakes and about 15 dashes of Worcestershire sauce. I browned 5 skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs then finished them in the oven for 25 min at 400 deg. I shredded and added the chicken back to the stock. The stock was made with one box of chicken stock plus 2 packets of Swanson Flavor Boost -Seafood incorporated slowly into the roux. I followed the tip from another reviewer about using a metal spatula while browning the roux... No lumps, no sticking nor burning... It was so easy and only took 20 min with the heat set one-notch past half on my ceramic cook top using a 10 inch cast iron skillet. I used 1 link of andouille sausage plus 1 link of smoked angus kielbasa adding them after browning. I added 1 large can of whole peeled tomatoes and 1 pound of okra. I also used 1 tsp of Herbs de Provence. I let the whole thing simmer at a slow bubble for about an hour and finally added 1 1/2 lb of medium shrimps during the final 10 minutes of the simmer. I served it over freshly steamed jasmine rice. I shared it with several friends who slurped up every last drop. It was New Orleans restaurant quality and authentic. Can't wait to make it again. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
A nice basic recipe, but if it doesn't have okra, it's not gumbo. The word "Gumbo" is based on a Ghana (West African) term for okra. It also requires tomatoes in some form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is very good, I made a large batch and froze it, will use it for my base recipe, I also added crab next time I will leave out the crab and probably put some of the chicken meat back in the gumbo. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookergirl
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Awesome. Very delicious! I think "Butcher_Boy" who left a long winded and rather unpleasant critique should go back to his fast food. It will be bland and tasteless,just as I imagine him to be! Leave the real cooking to those of us who appreciate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven Fabal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wallykings
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was GREAT!!!!!! A new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was a hit with my family. I tried following the recipe as is but ending up leaving in the chicken and adding more shrimp. My husband and son are huge meat eaters. I used 4 boneless skinless chicken thighs and 2 boneless skinless breast cut I in 1" and 1/2" pieces. I couldn't find any file locally but the broth seemed to be a perfect consistency. I also vegetable stock instead of water. Served over multigrain rice and...PERFECT! I appreciated the notation on how long it takes to make the roux. Please be patient...if it seems its not darkening turn the heat up a notch or it will take even longer. This will be a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as written with a couple of minor additions and it turned out great. To make it more like I remember it when I lived in Louisiana, I added a cup of fresh okra and one seeded chopped fresh tomato, not canned. Flavoring the roux and the gumbo with the chicken made a big difference (we ate the chicken after we removed it!) Be prepared, the roux takes 35-45 minutes of constant stirring, it needs to be dark brown and you know it's done when you can smell a strong cooked flour smell. In spite of conventional wisdom, we skipped the potato salad and crackers and served it with toasted sourdough and a fresh salad, a 2008 California Cabernet Sauvignon paired well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Very good, but I added a can of diced tomatoes for some color and extra flavor, and call me traditional, but I've never seen a gumbo recipe that didn't call for Okra! A pound or so of okra made this soup into real gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
the amount of time needed for this recipe is very well worth it! i served this over brown rice & it was absolutely amazing. i was hoping to have leftovers, but the pot is empty! i made a few minor changes: adding 1 cup diced celery; using 8 cups chicken/shrimp stock instead of 8 cups of water; i also couldn't find file powder, so i made a larger amount of roux to thicken using 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup butter & 1.5 cups flour. will definitely be making this many, many times in the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States